We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great retreat close to LA Best Attractions”
Review of Poche Plantation

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Convent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poche Plantation
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Convent
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We didn't expect such a wondeful peaceful weekend get-a-way we were so surprised by the tranquility of Poche Plantation, before leaving we booked another weekend in May... Located right on the Mississippi River and so convient to the famous plantations we toured, as well as visiting both New Orleans and Baton Rouge not realizing the jewel we had found was dead between these two historic cities... We just loved it, others must to as I mentioned we booked another weekend in May because this was their first open date.... Our total bill for three wonderful nights was under $400.00. Their staff was so informative on things to see se, famous places to eat and attractions that twice a year the staff is mandated to visit themselves, thanks for all at Poche. The tour of the Mansion at Poche we were thinking we would skip, well don't even think of skipping it... It was so humerous and the owner Mark gave it and let me tell you, you gonna laugh and leave with a smile... Thanks again

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abby737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2010

This place was the right choice for us, between Louisiana's two historic cities, clean, staff attentive, suggested local resturants we tried and loved them. Relaxing the new huge Hot Tub we enjoyed... Don't muss thus place, you won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This is about 50 minutes from New Orleans. Historic plantation lots of room and elagant. Across the road from the Mississippi. Very comfortable huge room with all the modern amentities. Gorgeous tile shower, jetted tub, bedit,wifi, cableTV.
We took the tour on our 5 day with the owner Mark. Wish I had taped his hilarious tales of the history. When he had just purchased the property Katrina struck. This kind man took in very many of the evacuees. The hallway outside our suite had 14 bunk beds!
He has servived and greatly improved the place but he is need of a little Karma from us to get him over the hump since those many months of zero income.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wahseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

The place we found was better than we expected, the staff, the cleanliness and the overall ambience we simply fell in love with... We would stay there again and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Windowmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We considered staying here in the B&B, but were leary after reading reviews. We ended up in Baton Rouge, which was a great choice for seeing area plantations.

We did stop by here while out. Couldn't see much signs of life. One RVer asked if we knew where the office manager was. Another couple who had been on a plantation tour with us said it was a nice RV park.

If you have limited time, are from out of state, and are looking for a B&B, I would say look elsewhere. This might be OK if you are from Louisiana, but I wouldn't drive several states away and depend on this to be the base for your area visit if you need a bed to sleep in. We would have arrived in the dark and maybe not even found the place after a full day of driving.

I'm writing this review to save other travelers time and because I used them to help me make my before-trip decisions.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
5  Thank hikerpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

If you're looking for a great place to get some R&R, within an hours drive from New Orleans, this is the place. Poche's Plantation has a tremendous top floor where my spouse and I stayed to rest and relax and that's what we DID. No worries, stay in the plantation all day, visit the warm cozy pool or jacuzzi, or visit one of the local restaurants. It's your choice. All restaurants are within 15 minutes driving distance from our stay.
The floor of the plantation was a great! It had a huge comfortable sleigh bed with an ole-fashion misquito net. The bathroom was close by. It was remodeled and everything worked. It had a spa and a huge shower. Both very enjoyable. Across the hall was a room with a big screen TV, comfortable couches and a big table. Perfect for watching TV, reading, eating, etc. Even with the modern changes, the actual plantation wasn't changed. It had lots of imitation antiques, fine china set on grand tables. Wood floors and a few fireplaces. A great combination of old and new.
On our first day we visited Hymel's where we received great-tasting fried seafood at a reasonable price. The restaurant is definetly cajun style with its roll paper table clothes and huge drinks. There was also live cajun music that was enjoyable and took me back. 5 stars without a doubt. Holmes House was great too, although a little pricey.
Our goal of r&r was achieved!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yokc2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

What a great camping experience close to new Orleans and gorgeous place.... My stayed at the cottages and we stayed in our RV ..... Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. River views were beautiful. Thanks to the owner for a cool and funny tour of the mansion

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Convent
23.6 mi away
Nottoway Plantation Resort
Nottoway Plantation Resort
#1 of 1 in White Castle
1,176 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
Comfort Inn Donaldsonville
#2 of 6 in Donaldsonville
63 reviews
14.9 mi away
Carmel Inn and Suites
Carmel Inn and Suites
#1 of 5 in Thibodaux
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Legacy Suites Donaldsonville / Saint James Parish
8.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Donaldsonville
5 reviews
15.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel
Comfort Suites Hotel
#6 of 16 in Gonzales
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poche Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poche Plantation

Address: 6554 Highway 44, Convent, LA 70723
Location: United States > Louisiana > Convent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Convent
Number of rooms: 39

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing