We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Plantation Rustic Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheneyville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loyd Hall Plantation
Ranked #1 of 1 Cheneyville B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant Plantation Rustic Charm”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

I loved the experience of being part of a historic plantation. I got to sleep in a huge, romantically dressed bed. Eat breakfast on a large dining table overlooking the sugar cane and soy bean fields, oh yeah and cool blue tile pool. Didn't have that in the 1800s! Superb!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank VagabondingLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
OVILLA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed in the old kitchen room. Very quiet with a lovely view of the pool. The room comes with a tour of the historic plantation. Comfortable and off the beaten trail. This venue has a place for weddings

Room Tip: We like the general store and the old kitchen. Rooms in the mansion are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rgentrydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night in 2012 on our way to New Orleans and were lucky enough to get the plantation mansion all to ourselves. There are two suites in the main house, but nobody else was there that night. It is absolutely breathtaking, like stepping back in time with all the modern comforts. We had a big old half-tester canopy bed and a claw foot bubble tub, along with a gorgeous sitting room filled with antiques. There are a number of entities that haunt this house, one being the man who built the house back in the early 1800's. He was reportedly playing both sides of the fence during the Civil War, was ambushed and then hanged from a tree in his front yard. I think he might have been tarred and feathered, too. Another ghost is of a servant who was murdered there, but still hangs around the old dining room. In the attic, there is a room with a large stain on the wooden floor that was purportedly from the blood of a young man who was shot and killed up there. Another story is of a jilted bride who jumped from an attic window. Lots going on there! We enjoyed ourselves very much and explored the place in the middle of the night. We didn't see or hear anything out of the ordinary. The next morning, however, we went down to breakfast. I left my digital recorder on my bedside table. When the hostess started telling stories I decided to get the recorder, but couldn't find it when I went back upstairs. I mentioned it to her and she told me the former owner (the hanged guy) liked to hide things. When we were packing up to leave I scoured everything and finally found the recorder in a drawer neither of us had touched on the opposite side of the room. Hmm???

Room Tip: If you like to hunt ghosts, this is a perfect place to stay. It's off the beaten path, but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Early nineteenth century charm, twenty-first comfort, Loyd Hall Plantation Bed & Breakfast in Cheneyville, Louisiana offers superior accommodations with the epitome of Southern charm. The plantation and grounds are lovingly and thoughtfully restored to create the inviting ambiance of past splendor and elegance. Rooms are appointed in period antiques and are reminiscent of a bygone era. The rooms also feature modern baths with private vanities. Indeed, every detail is attended to, and breakfast will make those who love country cooking and Southern hospitality smile.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blnelsonusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
325 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Simply loved our three days at Loyd Hall!! Beulah was charming and so attentive and kind. The peace and quiet is refreshing compared to the hotels in Alexandria as is the cleanliness! The history and preservation is breathtaking and amazing. I expected Rhett and Scarlett to show up any moment! "Fiddle dee dee!" Already booked for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candacejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I were off to the Angola Prison Rodeo and decided to make stops at two Plantations. The first was Loyd and other reviewers have given exellent info. We stayed in the Jenkins Suite and it was very nice. Large, inviting and a great room. Area is beautiful and a great example of the American South prior to the Civil War. Alexandria has lots of places to eat and I suggest you plan on dinner there before coming to the Mansion. Or checking in and going to dinner before dark. We were the only people there and it felt like we owned the place. Breakfast was ok. Tour was interesting but I'd have really liked to have had it when we arrived, not 1/2 hour before leaving.

Room Tip: The main house rooms are nice, those outside are in need of a few repairs, such as missing tiles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachbumsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montz LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed one night in the Camelia room and it was amazing. We were the only guests, it was peaecful, quiet and beautiful grounds. It is like taking a step back in time. Would definetly do it again, but next time for the whole weekend. I would highly recommend it for a couples weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Would be awesome to stay in the main house, about twice the price though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriCail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheneyville
20.0 mi away
Hotel Bentley
Hotel Bentley
#11 of 24 in Alexandria
23 reviews
7.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Bunkie LA
17.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alexandria
20.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Alexandria Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loyd Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loyd Hall Plantation

Property: Loyd Hall Plantation
Address: 292 Loyd Bridge Rd, Cheneyville, LA 71325-9142
Location: United States > Louisiana > Cheneyville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cheneyville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loyd Hall Plantation 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Loyd Hall Plantation Hotel Cheneyville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing