We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Coromandel Peninsula Day Tour
3

Book in advance
from
$393.85
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hot Water Beach
from $393.85
More Info
from $4,922.43
More Info
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveler rating
787
514
218
61
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
787
514
218
61
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide car park steam rising hot pot holiday park spa pool spade shovel hole dig dragging sand tides pools spring waves toes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

Does what it says on the tin. Dig yourself a hole or steal someone else's. It was freezing when we went and the water really was boiling thankfully.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank CaneloLeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Take a spade! This is an incredible place- I don’t think I believed it until I was lying in one of the hot water pools!
It was busy, but there are quiet places on the beach too. Car park is $4 a hour

It is a must see!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank theblondelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Went to Hot Water Beach a few weeks ago. It was cool outside which made it even more amazing. We were supplied with spades from our hotel. We walked around until we found an area that was warm to stand on and started digging. It's a challenge as the sand keeps caving in on itself but my husband got the job done. The water was very warm...even hot in some places. At times you could not stand in certain areas as it was too hot. There were so many people on the beach all just sitting in the warm water. Some, would then run into the ocean....it was way too cold for me to do that. You must remember to check the tide timings and go two hours either side of low tide. So much fun. This is definitely worth doing!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Nancyd751
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

We came as part of a day tour from Auckland. This was a new one for me and I do love hot springs! Our guide knew the right time for the tides and provided our shovels and gave us some tips. Once the hot tub is dug just wiggle your feet back and forth to release the hot water from below. There are some really hot spots. It was a fun unusual experience and not to be missed.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

So we went to the beach, hired a spade and dug ourselves a hole near the low tide mark and it filled with water.

Nothing special, except this was a geothermal beach and the water was like 60 or so degrees (centigrade for you Americans).

I have read of people complaining that it's not hot, it's too crowded, blah, blah, blah. Gee people complain a lot, don't they?

We got there around 1.5 hours before the low tide. We had hired the spade from the tourist park and parked our camper in the carpark at the rate of $2 per hour.

We wandered down to the beach and there was only one other family there with their hole already dug.

I took the very technical approach of looking for a spot that had steam coming out of the sand (did the sooks the didn't find hot water try that?) and dug a hole.

HOT!!! Very hot. Exactly what I was after. It was too hot for my wife and daughter so they dug their own little pool and regulated the temperature with cold water from the beach.

We then laid in our respective pools for over an hour.

In that time I saw the beach fill up. I saw plenty of people just dig any old where and wonder why they didn't enjoy my warm water. Every now and then I scooped out a little bit of sand with my hands and when I did so the temperature increased significantly.

Outside the weather was a little cold, it even rained a little bit but insulated in my geothermal pool I really couldn't cared if it snowed!

Very relaxing and it met, and smashed, all of our expectations.

So we just laid there and enjoyed the scenery.

Date of experience: May 2019
2  Thank Oswald_Q_Ostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews