We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When will we be back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Water Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“When will we be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was the final place on our seven week tour around New Zealand and what a wonderful end to the trip. Trevor and Gail epitomise the warm and friendly hosts we met throughout, welcoming us into their home and helping us to make the most of our stay. The weather was not very kind during some of our four nights, but on easily the best day we borrowed spades from their collection and after a great lunch at the Mercury Bay Winery we were able to enjoy the pleasure of digging holes in the beach at low tide; along with a few dozen others - what an experience. We were in an extremely comfortable self-contained wing with a great view of the beach. Even though Gail couldn't persuade the boats to take us along the spectacular coast, we were able to walk to Cathedral Cove and enjoy the local restaurants which Gail booked for us, followed by a glass or two of wine with our hosts back in their lounge. Trevor's car turnaround service was also highly appreciated and used many times. We hope some day we will be able to enjoy their hospitality again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon, and we cant recommend it highly enough.

Gail and Trevor are amazingly nice people. They were always helpful and gave us wonderful recommendations for the surrounding areas.

The place itself is lovely, with views worth their weight in gold. You could spend hours just staring off of their deck, and if the mood strikes, the beach is a very quick walk away.

Overall, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzaveloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Friendly & helpful hosts, great room & facilities. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at some superb B & Bs during a 4 week trip to New Zealand but this was outstanding in every way. A great location does not necessarily mean good service- often the reverse seems to be true- but in this case the friendliness and helpfulness of Gail and Trevor make it outstanding; they are areally nice couple and chatting to them was a pleasure particularly over a glass or two of wine on the balcony. It is some distance from the nearest restaurants but They take care of both making a reservation and arranging for the local taxi transport - the driver is another great character. At first sight getting out of the car parking area down asteep slope looks difficult but Trevor takes care of turning your car round for you, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is superb. There is a well stocked honesty bar and free ( if rather slow )internet access) In addditon Gail did some much need laundry for us and then didn't charge. A wonderful place to relax and we would have loved to stay longer than two nights.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Gail and Trevor are wonderful hosts and the location is superb. Excellent facilities, especially if you are traveling with friends. Well appointed and many things to do within walking distance. Be sure to take the walk to Cathedral Cove and take advantage of Hot Water Beach. The breakfast overlooking the bay was marvelous. Our stay was memorable and we would definitely advise anyone to go given the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinka1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip. The house has fantastic views over the beach and the deck was a great spot to sit and watch the sun go down with a bottle of wine.

Gail & Trevor were excellent hosts and provided us with maps and plenty of tips for things to do while we were in the area as well as helping us plan our drive back to Auckland so we could see as much of the Coromandel as possible.

We were provided with towels for the beach and spades to dig our holes in the sand at low tide.

Breakfast was served on the deck in the sunshine with the views of the beach.

The honesty bar was great as there is only one shop at the beach which closes early. The Hot Waves cafe is great for lunch and is only a short walk from the beach.

Would stay again to relax and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodieonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

We had a lovely stay at this superbly comfortable, modern B&B with a great sea view from the large deck. Our ground-floor room was very spacious, decorated in cream and green, with a spotless en-suite bathroom (and a powerful shower!). Gail and Trevor are lovely, easy-going, friendly and helpful hosts who think of everything to make their guests comfortable. Spades are provides for guests who want to dig a hole when the tide is out on Hot Water Beach. And Gail serves great breakfasts which keep you going all day! This is first-class accommodation in a great location for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. Most highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady from Luxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Water Beach
7.8 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
20.2 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
3.3 mi away
The Church Accommodation
3.6 mi away
Tatahi Lodge Motel
Tatahi Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Hahei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hot Water Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 48 Pye Place, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hot Water Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Water Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within five minutes walk of Hot Water Beach and the hot springs. Magnificent views of beach and ocean from our bed and breakfast. Ten minutes drive to Cathedral Cove carpark, several restaurants and golf course. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing