We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Preffered accomm at Hot Water Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Preffered accomm at Hot Water Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Facilities clean, modern. Campsites huge semi private, grassed which is great. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved the takeway shop at the park. Busy with families so can be loud but by dusk very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brittapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Our park is certainly a busy place with families travelling young and old. I am very pleased to hear that the rules of quiet time were enforced so that all our customers got to enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    131
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
127
187
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed one night in a family cabin a couple of weeks ago. The good:
easy walk to the beach, kids entertained on bikes and play ground, cabin clean, bedding fine, quiet at night, showers good (went to the outside ones which look new), staff amazing and friendly, takeaways on site good but $$$ and the line is long if you're late (we wern't but others waitied some time). CLose to Cathedral Cove. Laundry was great and lots of happy people about.
BAD: the beds were pretty awful. The double/queen what ever it was in the family cabin had seen better years. The bunks were a little hard and the wooden slats were not secured so it made for an interesting sleep when the kids moved around. Quite easily could have been dislodged and the kids tumble down on to the bunk below. I did think it was and expensive place to stay but you're strapped for places that take 5 ($175 NZD) I think next time I would try Hahei holiday park. Though the prices are the same. The take aways were $$$ as the local stores close at 4.30 on week nights. Hubby reports fish is good and the kids liked the vege burger.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mean_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our site. We are sorry to hear you did not have a comfortable stay. The queens beds in the rooms are only 3 years old and hotel quality, we can if people are suffering backs issues provide an extra comforter for the mattress. The bunks in all our lodgings are inspected for any safety issues and the slats are secured to the rails. We will double check that there is not loose ones in your unit though as we certainly would be concerned if a child fell from a bunk.

The family cabins are a very popular choice for larger familes and they do have their own TV, fridge and shared BBQ which we feel makes them quite good value.

I agree that there is often a que at the takeaways as they have proved to be a very very popular meal choice for families wanting a relaxing night off cooking. Whilst we do have a shop on site that is opened until 7.30pm, we do advise customers that if they do not want the extra expense to bring their own groceries into the park where they can then utilise the full cooking facilites in the kitchen.

We hope you will visit again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in a cabin here in February for two nights. The cabin was clean and comfortable. The bathrooms and laundry facilities were immaculate. The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The takeaway each evening was good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new cabins which was lovely but near the entrance and the short stay pitches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepzibar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
What a wonderful review, we love reading all our reviews good or bad each day and your one brought a well deserved smile to our staffs faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Of all the Top 10s we have stayed in, this is the standout favourite for its spaciousness, natural beauty, and facilities. Sites are a good size with vegetation between them, and the tenting area is large and uncrowded (at least in March). The amenities are spotless, functional and inviting. There is a terrific kitchen with both indoor and outdoor seating areas, a separate TV/computer/sitting room so the TV can be turned on for some without interrupting those who are trying to have a conversation over a meal in the indoor seating area, and lovely tables, some shaded in the outdoor area near the barbecue. Although the weather was sunny and beautiful when we were here, this is a place where someone in a tent or small campervan would enjoy waiting out a spell of bad weather, as there is lots of indoor space that is well-lit (the area with the indoor tables has big skylights to let in the sun or outdoor light during the daytime) and there is a woodstove to heat this indoor table area as well. This Top 10 also has the cutest little cabins that have all the basics—a bed, a little table and a small fridge—but might be preferable to a tent if the weather is bad. There are, of course, larger accommodations with more amenities as well. Hot Water Beach is just a short walk, and you can rent a spade/shovel from the office.

While the kitchen was adequate for the number of people using it at the time of our visit, it was certainly a hoppin' place, and it made us wonder what it would be like during peak holiday times in January and February. The park has put in place some measures to alleviate shower congestion, but the best one so far is to build some more showers, which are now nearly finished.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review on our park. You are certainly correct in your assumption that over the peak of summer there is a great deal more pressure on all our facilities. Its really great for international visitors to travel alittle outside of this period as I am sure they do not quite get the same experience when it feels like the entire rest of NZ is on holiday as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed only for in night in one of the lodges, but found not only the rooms and bathrooms, but the whole campground to be immaculately clean and very well cared for. From here, you can walk down to Hot Water Beach in 10-15 minutes, some of which is along a nice, wooden walkway.
Everything was very well maintained.

They have a fish and chips ship on the campground. I had fish and chips, which were quite nice. Since they were prepared freshly to order, I had to wait for about 10 minutes or so.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
I have passed your comments on to our hard working cleaners as they are a very dedicated team who take great pride in maintaining our property. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This place if more or less a campground with some cabins. The facilities are clean in the dorm rooms and everything is quite spacious. There are many car and tent sites that all share the main facilities. If you are in the dorm rooms, there are attached bathrooms and showers or each cabin. They are clean but not adequate for the number of beds they serve. There were 2 rooms per cabin, each with 7 people in them. 14 people to share 2 toilets and 2 showers..... there was a lot of waiting. The proximity to Hot Water Beach is excellent, with a well groomed walking trail between the site and the beach. I would stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Dorm cabins sleep 7 per room but only offer 2 toilets and 2 showers per 14 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your response, we are pleased you enjoyed the experience at Hot water Beach. As explained to all our customers that check into the park if you wish to stay in the Backpackers Dorm which is a cheaper option you have the use of the toilets and showers in their rooms, but also the other facility block which is only a few metres away. Hopefully you will visit again and can stay in a self-contained unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We didnt stay here but were sent to the shop for a few things, Vivienne was very helpful and we got what we needed in the well stocked shop. We looked round the camp and it looked beautiful and well maintained...only missing a pool we felt, though Hot water beach is a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotWaterBeachTop10, Owner at Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
As a reasonably new park we are always looking at ways of expanding our business to meet the needs of our customers. A Pool is definately on that list, hopefully its something we can prioritise over the next few years. Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hot Water Beach
19.8 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.5 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hahei Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seabreeze Holiday Park
Seabreeze Holiday Park
#1 of 1 in Whenuakite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
7.3 mi away
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
Mercury Bay Holiday Park
#5 of 24 in Whitianga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 790 Hot Water Beach Road, Hot Water Beach 3591, New Zealand (Formerly Hot Water Beach Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Hot Water Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hot Water Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hot Water Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing