We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rectory Farm

Rectory Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northmoor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rectory Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Northmoor B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Absoluetly excellent! Mary-Anne and Robert are extremely welcoming, friendly (but not intrusive) and interesting hosts in a top notch B&B in a very quiet location. Really good rooms and breakfast, nice visitor lounge with a wood burning stove which was much appreciated in probably the coldest weekend of the 2012/13 winter (-1.5c both days). Having somewhere nice and warm to sit in comfort at the end of a bitterly cold day rather than have to stay out longer than we could stand before returning to a bedroom made a huge difference. Decent food in the village pub 200 yards away, and several places to eat within 10 minutes drive. We will definately return when its warmer and we can enjoy the setting more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Rectory Farm Northmoor for 4 nights in March 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had the warmest welcome , delicious breakfasts (different fruits and pastries every morning) and the luxury of a guest sitting room complete with glowing wood burner. Our hosts were friendly and interesting without being in the slightest bit intrusive. A number ofl books and information booklets were available for us to use on our daily visits into Oxford city centre; the local pub and restaurant guide was also most useful in helping make the difficult decision as to where to eat in the evenings. The Red Lion just around the corner from the Farm did a very basic and reasonable priced meal. Our stay in the 16th century Rectory was memorable and we would certainly make a return visit!

Room Tip: The smaller corridor room above the front door has a lovely rural view over the Farm's gardens a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Recently stayed 2 nights at Rectory Farm and enjoyed a first class service. Room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable, excellent visitor lounge with wood burning stove which was very welcoming when coming in from the cold. Hosts were excellent, breakfast was delightfull along wiith Mary-Anne's homemade shortbread, brownies and muffins.
Excellent food also served in Red Lion which isa 5 minute walk away.
Would highly recomend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

After a busy day in Oxford we were wanting a nice quiet English country retreat, Rectory Farm was the perfect answer for us, with a welcome pot of tea on our arrival in front of the reception room fire,
A very spacious and comfortable bedroom awaited us with all you would expect from a 5 stare B&B.
We are not normally into the grand English full cooked breakfast routine but on this occasion we just had to sample the range of home made and local area products that were presented.
A definite recommendation.
Hugh Martin Auckland NZ.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here for several nights with my family and enjoyed it very much. The cabin we stayed in was well outfitted and we enjoyed the wood-burning stove. The little town is lovely. It's an easy 15 minute drive to the Oxford park & ride. Perhaps the best thing was the little pub just a 3 minute walk from the B&B -- the Red Lion Northmoor. We had several delicious and delightful meals there. Great, convenient location for seeing Oxford, Blenheim, the Cottswolds and getting a taste of English country life.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrozetDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Recently stayed for two nights at Rectory Farm. Rooms spotlessly clean with comfortable beds and great bathrooms. Warm friendly welcome with wonderful shortbread and tea on our arrival. The building and gardens are interesting and charming. Breakfasts were just excellent with muffin and choc au pain 'treats'. Thoroughly recommended for a great holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffspair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just stayed here this weekend with my Girlfriend Joanne and it was great. It was nice to get away and the surroundings are fantastic. The owner 'Mary Anne' was very nice and she made sure we had everything we needed. I can recommend to anyone who wishes a short break away in the Oxfordshire that it is a really good B&B to consider when looking. The grounds are lovely and there is a small village pub just a 2 minute walk away. We thouroughly enjoyed ourselves, Thanks!

Room Tip: Speak to Mary Anne, she will advise you the best options for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonclewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northmoor
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 20 in Moreton-in-Marsh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#11 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Folly Farm Cottage
Folly Farm Cottage
#2 of 4 in Ilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rectory Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rectory Farm

Property: Rectory Farm
Address: Northmoor OX29 5SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Northmoor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northmoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rectory Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one twin and one double room with en-suite shower rooms for Bed and Breakfast accommodation in our 16th-century farmhouse which has been a family home for 3 generations. Rectory Farm is situated in the centre of the village of Northmoor in a quiet location behind the church - this is one of the few places where you hear no noise from a major road! A warm welcome awaits you along with a cup of tea and homemade shortbread. We love spending time with our guests and helping you to make the most of your stay with our wealth of local knowledge. For breakfast we offer fruit, yogurt, pastries (- homemade muffins are our specialty) along with a cooked option which is freshly cooked to your specifications on the Aga using where possible locally sourced ingredients including eggs from our own hens. We also offer our guests their own sitting room with woodburning stove. For those of you who need to stay in touch with the outside world WIFI is available free of charge. If peace, quiet and comfort in an informal atmosphere are what you are looking for then we are the place for you!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing