We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable”

Champagne's Cajun Swamp Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED: Please call prior to confirm a tour is departing at a scheduled time. Swamp Tour Times: 8am, 9:30am, 11am, 1pm, 4pm, 6pm Located in Breaux Bridge near Lafayette, LA, Champagne's Cajun Swamp Tours guided eco boat rides offer insight into Lake Martin's swamp, St. Martin Parish's hidden jewel. Please call for reservation because tour times vary. This professionally guided swamp tour will take you safely through cypress trees and tupelo gum trees draped in Spanish moss. This swamp is home to 205 different species of birds, and inhabits some of the largest alligators you will ever see up close and personal! We are open year round, 7 days a week. We are the only swamp tour at Lake Martin to provide indoor air-conditioned clean restrooms, souvenir shop, including cold drinks, hot dogs, sandwiches, nachos, ice cream, and New Orleans' snowballs! Outdoor covered deck provides seating areas overlooking the water, inside seating areas with A/C, big screen TVs - just to name a few amenities. Come hang out with us for an afternoon and join us on a Cajun Swamp Tour that you will remember for years to come! We can accommodate large groups. Photographers, bring your cameras!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Wild life tours for the non-specialist tend to be a bit superficial. This was an exception. A super mix of detail and generality lasting a couple of hours resulted in 4 alligators and innumerable birds. But the most important thing was the ambience and this tour had this in spades. Well worth the $20 (and more)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank SenileSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,286
    90
    11
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Interesting”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a terrific time. The trip was well worth the $20 each. The driver gave us both information on the plant life and the animal life that make up the swamp. It lasted between one and a half and two hours. I would go again in a minute. The driver found a gator guarding her nest and got out and interacted with her. I got some "GREAT" pictures.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bell3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level Contributor
193 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great tour with a comfortable boat & informative guide.”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I grew up in South LA & know swamps, bayous, and marshes well so I had high expectations. Capt. Bryan Champagne met my expectations. My niece was visiting with 5 young children and the tour was informative for everyone in the boat-adults & children. Bryan spoke French with four Europeon visitors as well as providing detailed info, in English & French, on the plants, trees, and wildlife of the area. Truly a comfortable and educational experience.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cajuncass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlan, KY
Level Contributor
133 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Very interesting! We saw three gators and some birds. Beautiful swampland. Bryan was a great tour guide. Very knowledgable and very nice. Our kids loved it!

Helpful?
Thank HarlanKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Champagne tour leaves you intoxicated”
Reviewed July 19, 2010

After researching the swamp tours in the area, we decided on Bryan Champagne's tour. He's very friendly and has a great sense of humor We went in June and because of the heat, he told us the only 2 hour tour would be at 8:00, after that it would be limited to 1 hour. We went for the 2 hour and were delighted. He promised no mosquitoes, and there weren't any, and no snakes, but we did see gators and beautiful birds. He managed to catch a small gator and let everyone hold it and take pictures. He definitely knows what he's doing; the boat was wide and comfortable with swivel seats, everyone was able to see on both sides of the boat so no one missed anything. There was one incident when the guy in front was stung by a wasp. Then we noticed the nests hanging from the trees, but Bryan seemed surprised that the guy was stung and he promptly moved to another area. I'm not a spring chicken any more and had a little difficulty getting in and out of the boat. It's a big step down from the bank to the boat but we all helped each other. Not sure how he'd handle someone who really couldn't make that big step since everyone on the tour was able to get in and out. Bryan is extremely accommodating and wants to make sure you enjoy yourself. We wanted some cattails to take home so Bryan pulled up in the middle of some and waited while we cut a few. Too late I realized I should have brought a hat and some water. But the trip is worth the price with incredible scenery and very relaxing. You leave with a new appreciation for that area.

Helpful?
1 Thank mapatogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champagne's Cajun Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Champagne's Cajun Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing