We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good”
Review of Cafe Des Amis - CLOSED

Cafe Des Amis
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stopped here because of a Frommers guidebook recommendation and we were not disappointed. We ordered appetizers only, including BBQ shrimp, alligator cheesecake, cornbread and crabcakes, all interesting and excellent. The live music and Russian icons over the bar were nice touches. Friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roamer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    140
    38
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"AY-EEEE"”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Music and dancing with breakfast? Mais oui en la Louisiane! We were staying at a hotel in Lafayette and, in perusing the local attractions pamphlets, we saw one for this place and decided to try it. This place opens at 7:30, we got there about 7:20, got in line, and managed to get a seat; the music starts around 8:30 and the dancing starts about 8:30.05. You have to pay a $5 per person cover charge at the door but if you order breakfast, that charge is refunded on your ticket. The food was good but the people, music, and dancing was great! All in all, happy-happy!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Saturday morning must do”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Food is good but that is not the reason to tarry a while here on Saturday mornings-the music and dancing and people watching are what it's all about.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancydHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must do in South Louisiana”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Saturday morning Zydeco breakfast is unique with its combination of fabulous cajun style breakfast and zydeco music with dancing. Even if you only come for the breakfast, you will be entertained by a local Zydeco group playing live music and locals dancing it up as only the fun loving people of South Louisiana can do.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank popofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

They're clearly trying to be a fancy place, but they've got a long way to go.
A friend who came here many years ago recommended this place for it's life music and great Cajun kitchen. The food was so so. My girlfriends dish was almost cold when it arrived and the sides smelled like they were fried in old oil. The roasted duck was excellent though.
The biggest disappointment however was our waitress, Cynthia, which was very rude and clearly wanted to have us out sooner rather than later. She didn't even make the effort to put the plates on the table but instead just held them out for me to take. The check (almost $70 for the two of us) was served when we were halfway through and she came back to see if she can collect the credit card while my girlfriend was nowhere near finished. Of course she never bothered to ask us if we wanted anything else.
At the end they automatically add 20% gratuity to the bill for "Excellent Service" as it says right there on the receipt. Outrageous.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Piokn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Des Amis also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing