We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swamp with an Attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Martin

Lake Martin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small lake contains an enormous amount and variety of wild animals and birds.
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Swamp with an Attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Impressive Cajum Swamp with abundant wildlife including alligators. Good roads getting there which is a Louisiana rarity.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fufys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    48
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fascinating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lake Martin is a real gem! It is a lake with open water surrounded by a beautiful cypress swamp, and it is a photographer's paradise.

I had read about the new boardwalk but wondered whether it was suitable for my portable wheelchair, since I cannot walk long distances. The answer is yes, it was not hard to get onto, and once on it, we had smooth sailing, or rather rolling. When we came to the end, we could have returned to our car by going a short distance along the road. But instead, we turned around and took the boardwalk the other direction. After all, you notice different things when you are heading the other way, and the views are both interesting and lovely.

After we left the boardwalk, we drove along the edge of the lake and enjoyed seeing a number of herons and egrets at the sides of the road.

Then we took a boat tour with Cajun Country Swamp Tours (reviewed separately) and gained a new perspective on the swamp and lake, as Shawn skilfully navigated the boat through both across the lake and through passages broad and narrow. We learned a great deal from him and were also impressed by his care and respect for the swamp. The tour certainly deepened our knowledge and appreciation of Lake Martin and of its fauna and flora. It's great for photography, too! Lake Martin is an excellent and beautiful place to become acquainted with the swamplands of southern Louisiana.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpe_Diem_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
1 review
“Love It-Cajun Kayaker Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Swampy and beautiful. Lots of birds and wildlife to see. Many gators, but they keep their distance. I live close by and it is my favorite place to unwind in nature. Decent for an easy mountain bike ride too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hambone140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“beautiful swamp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Took swamp tour with Cajun Country Swap Tours (Shawn was a great guide) and it was the highlight of the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WMC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, La
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Alligators anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

beautiful new walkway now in place.......if you want to see alligators and wildlife, this is the place to go........bring your camera too.Fishing is excellent too.

Helpful?
1 Thank sxtt38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Martin also viewed

 

Been to Lake Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing