We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Others are good. This one is the best.”

Cajun Country Swamp Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trip advisor Hall of Fame member does eco-swamptours through picturesque cypress/tupelo swamp. See a variety of swamp wildlife such as alligators,egrets,herons,turtles,etc. Owner is native cajun with college degrees in Zoology and Botany.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Others are good. This one is the best.”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Living only two or three hours from south Louisiana, I have had the pleasure of taking many swamp tours over the past ten years. All have been fun, in their own way; but this one stands out. I mean "head and shoulders" above all of the others. For one thing, the tour guides -- Butch and his son, Shawn -- are very interested in maintaining the ecology of the area. No, they are not starry eyed idealists; they are pragmatists who are interested in preserving the wetlands and the way of life supported by bayous and swamps, in general, and Lake Martin, in particular. If you are looking for a tour where the driver lures "gators" to the boat by throwing out marshmallows, look elsewhere. These guys respect the wildlife and help the guests get a better picture of the long term consequences of exploitation. Yes, you may see alligators. We saw many the time we toured in September, just a few most recently in December. The beauty if this setting is that you will see something spectacular, depending on the season. This past trip, we saw a Bald Eagle. We saw hundreds of Great White Egrets, a dozen or so Blue Herons, one Tricolor Heron, many Ibis and Anhenga and other birds that only serious birders could identify. The flora were pretty bare in December, but that enhanced the stark beauty of the Spanish Moss in the Baldcypress and Tupelo Gum trees. Guests will learn much about the history of the waterway, the politics that led to the creation of the lake, and current threats to the area -- including but not limited to those who would like to see more commercial development. By the way, our "two hour" tour lasted almost three hours. You might be wise to use the available environmentally friendly porta-potties before you head out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lawyerwithachainsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    34
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
351 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Real information, not folklore”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have been on another swamp tour in the same area, and while the guide/owner was extremely personable, his scientific accuracy left something to be desired. We selected this one because we wanted our two nieces who were visiting to go away with accurate information about the swamps. This tour is all of that and more. The guide is clearly educated about the flora and fauna of the swamps and has a true respect for the wildlife and for the environment. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_QBatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This company is educated from everything about the wildlife to the history of the swamps. They are passionate about saving this place so future generations will enjoy it too. They follow the rules of not feeding the alligators to help protect the species and the people. Great company that educates and protect. Such a great trip and so inexpensive considering the memories you'll take home. Thanks Shawn!- the Tudyk's

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhobint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were booked for a Friday tour on our way to Texas, but due to the inclement weather the tour was cancelled. As I had wanted to do this tour for months and from home in Australia, we changed our trip and stayed in Breaux Bridge to catch the Sunday morning tour. What a brilliant tour, and Butch our guide was wonderful. He explained about the whole ecosystem in the swamp, including all the wildlife we saw. Though it was cold and a little windy we still saw an alligator, which made the tour. Definitely do not miss this value for money tour. Hopefully we'll be back one day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private Swamp Tour”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Butch gave us the best four hour tour you can imagine! As we only had one day in south Louisiana we decided to book our own private tour for four hours to get really thorough tour of the swamp. It was worth every single penny. Course, it helped that we started with a light mist/fog over the swamp and got some great pictures! If we had been birders we could've checked off multiple little birds from our life list. And even in November saw several alligators including a nest with
little ones crawling all over. Butch was a fountain of information and knew every thing you could possibly want to know about the swamp. Great fun, highly recommend!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank irwinftw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Country Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Country Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing