We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inspiring & beautiful!”

Cajun Country Swamp Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trip advisor Hall of Fame member does eco-swamptours through picturesque cypress/tupelo swamp. See a variety of swamp wildlife such as alligators,egrets,herons,turtles,etc. Owner is native cajun with college degrees in Zoology and Botany.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inspiring & beautiful!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have been on many swamp tours & they are all enjoyable. However, this one was quite special. The skiffs are small enabling the tour to go into areas bigger boats cannot. The Atchafalaya Basin is breathtakingly beautiful. The Eco tour guide very knowledgeable & fun. Of course you will see alligators, but many spectacular birds as well. I highly recommend this wonderful tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffnTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    501
    33
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Definitely recommend this company to do this swamp tour. The setting is magical and stunning and we saw a great variety of wildlife. The guide was extremely knowledgable and really cared about preserving the environment. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highlight of the holiday”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had the tour guide Butch who was so knowledgeable about the swamp and full of anecdotes. It was a very interesting tour, we saw loads of alligators, turtles and birds.

Would really recommend this tour, it really was a highlight of the holiday

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cajun Country Swamp Tour”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to Louisiana specifically to do the swamp tour. Originally we had it scheduled in for the Saturday evening, but because of the heavy rainfall we had to reschedule it for the Sunday morning. Barbara who I spoke with in the phone was very helpful and accommodating.

On Sunday morning, we were met at the boat dock by Shawn, our swamp guide, and because everyone else in the group had arrived early, we set off straight away.

Shawn was very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife, and he made the tour even better with all of his snippets of interesting information about trees and alligators and birds etc.

The swamp was much more beautiful than I had imagined it would be. The cypress trees trailing down, contrasting areas of water and the total serenity of the place. We saw lots of alligators (Shawn was excellent at pointing them out), herons, crows, banana spiders, tiny frogs, turtles, dragonflies and even a snake. The lillypads were a lovely sight too - water standing on top of them like varying sized diamonds.

Absolutely loved this whole experience - it was one of the highlights of our entire road trip :-) Would recommend highly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MortimerBigMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swamptacular!!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Sean was our guide and we had a great trip! We saw owls a bald eagle and lots of gators. The trip was fun and educational. My 3 boys loved it too. A must see if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherlamneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cajun Country Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cajun Country Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing