We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gamblers Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's Louisiana Downs

Harrah's Louisiana Downs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Super Derby is a world-class track offering both quarter horse and thoroughbred racing.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gamblers Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Seasonal horseracing & casino gambling. Many food & drink options available. Easy access from Interstate.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bjb4715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    322
    222
    68
    77
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If You Like the Horses - This is the Place For you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

OK, I have to admit it, I love going to the track! For me, there is nothing quite like the pounding of the hooves, on the dirt or grass, of thunderous racing horses coming around the final turn towards the finish line.

Louisiana Downs is an incredible spectacle of excitement and great anticipation of that one in a couple of hundrd or so chances that I just might WIN! The Louisiana Downs Racing Track is now directly connected to a Harrah's Casino and the combination of the two is an exacta win that no one will be disappointed by. The casino is clean and the winning, for me, has been above average. The srevice is way above board and there is always excitement in the air. Harrahs keeps the casino clean and the air does not smell of smoke and one does not experience that grungy, grimmy feel, that can so often be part of the casino experience.

Across the main entrance, where one can find a cozy little sports bar, a nice buffet, and a Fudruckers Restaurant, are the esculators to the track. The second floor at the track has a very clean, glassed encased, tiered seating area which is the length of the final strech of the race track. Towards the back of the second floor are several bars and snack food places and in between one can find the betting windows and machines. This floor is very user friendly and very comfortable.

The third floor houses Harrah's Club which is a dining area, also glassed encased, tiered, and the entire length of the final strech of the track. Tables are lined up on each tier, and food and drink are aplenty, and by the way, the food is very good. There is an $18.00 minimum per person, but that adds up very quickly, but it's worth it.

At the far end of Harrah's Club, to the left, is the private dining club for the Harrah's regulars

if you don't want a meal, but are in the mood for a couple of drinks, at the other end of the third floor is the Harrah's Club Bar, where the wonderfual bar tenders see to your every want and desire. Racing screens surround this area, and there is always excitment in the air in this area as the various races from various tracks around the country run are broadcast.

The bathrooms are spotless and the whole complex is very well maintained, even on the busiest of racing days. Parking is plentiful and it is right off the I-20 interstate less that ten minutes east of Shreveport. There are now three hotels on the Louisiana Downs/Harrha's Casino grounds and all of them are new and quite comfotable and reasonalby priced.

What a nice get-a-way weekend for anyone who needs a little break from life!

And they're off! Now you got too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved Louisiana Downs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

While in Bossier City on vacation, we planned on a visit to Louisiana Downs. We spent a little money, and got ourselves a clubhouse box with a television (although there is no charge if you want to be outside of the clubhouse). The young ladies that sold us our box were very nice, and one of them offered to seat us. We were pleased to find our box right on the finish line. The clubhouse is enclosed, so the temperature was very comfortable. Since we used the betting machines to place our wagers, we only visited the teller on our way out. Linda was so helpful and nice, and answered all of our questions as we cashed out. We would definitely go back there if we return to Louisiana.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARION
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I really like the La.Downs. It is comfortable to be there. I love betting on the horses. You can get a comfortable seat up in the first level without paying extra and hot or cold, it is comfortable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank FRANCES W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Harrahs was a really good casino to visit. They had way more slots and the pay out was good. The drinks for me wasn't good, but overall I enjoyed this casino; maybe the best one in this area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyTri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrah's Louisiana Downs also viewed

 

Been to Harrah's Louisiana Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing