We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK, I suppose ... But Not Exceptional...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DiamondJacks Casino and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
DiamondJacks Casino and Resort
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Bossier City
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
367 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“OK, I suppose ... But Not Exceptional...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I arrived at around 11:30pm, and check in was fast and efficient. I used a free room night voucher, received as a result of my membership in the casino's players club program, to pay for the stay.

I was given a jacuzzi suite on the 11th floor. The room was quite large, with separate living and sleeping areas separated by a wall-to-ceiling partition of sorts. The jacuzzi tub was in the sleeping area but with ample space between the tub and the bed. The bathroom was large and equipped with fluffy towels and an assortment of basic toiletries. The room and bathroom were both clean.

Generally, I would rate a property like this to be above average, but there were enough quirks to cause me to downgrade it a notch. Specifically:

- My bed, although comfortable, had a strange slope to the right. It can be seen when looking at the bed. It's odd that this has not been caught and repaired by the maintenance staff.

- Internet access is not free. It costs $9.99 per day.

- In-room climate control was very noisy. The unit is behind a grille in the wall, and it was too loud to keep on while I was trying to sleep. The amount of heat it produced seemed to vary, and I found that even with the unit running, the room didn't warm up a whole lot overnight - although the following morning, it seemed to be producing some heat. I don't know if my room happened to have a malfunctioning unit or if they're all like this, but it's appropriate to mention since it's something I experienced.

- Hotel requires a $100 cash deposit on check in, or the deposit can be paid by credit card. I was told when I booked the reservation that it could take 5 days for the amount to be refunded back to the credit card. This is the kind of practice one typically encounters at properties catering to a questionable clientele, and it surprised me that a property of this supposed cailbre would have such a policy.

- There's a small parking area outside the hotel for hotel guests, but not anywhere near the amount of parking required to accommodate those guests. I had to park in the casino parking garage instead.

As far as the casino goes - it's fairly small and compact, but I did find the staff to be pleasant and cordial.

Overall ... since I was using a free night voucher, I can't really complain about the overall stay, and I would definitely stay here again on a free voucher. But if I were paying for the stay, I'm not sure that the value received would have been worth the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    53
    81
    144
See reviews for
65
162
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Upon first arrival, thought the room was pretty good for the price. The hotel was alot cheaper than other casinos in the area. Even though the decor was old, all was manageable for the low price. Then the boiler blew up at 6:00 am and there was no hot water. We were in a hurry to leave, so we really didn't call to complain, but mentioned it at check out. The response was "Oh yeah, the boiler is out and hot water is out ot the hotel." They did not offer any relief, any other discounted stay or anything to make it up to us. Doesn;t matter how cheap...no hot water is unacceptable. Gotta take care of your customers...Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijidaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Passing through for a night. The room I got was apparently used and not cleaned. It looked like a swinger party took place. We just left. Keep my money, I'll never come back. Ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajun16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Got to hotel two hours after check in and my reserved rooms weren't ready. Waited almost an hour just to get one of the rooms. Had to leave due to plans made with my group, and when we got back, our second room was not what we reserved. They told me I should've gotten to the hotel earlier to make sure I get the room I reserve. What's the point of a reservation if you aren't going to RESERVE my rooms? Staff was rude, and only compensation for my troubles AFTER complaining several times was a $20 discount on the room we didn't want. Will NOT be staying here again. I had to pay for my friend to sleep on a cot because the wrong room only had one bed. Terrible customer service!!! Went for my birthday with friends, and this put a damper on the weekend.

Room Tip: Should you decide to use this hotel, you need to verify EVERY detail of EVERY reservation. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gay, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Considering the price, we had a great time. The jacuzzi tub was huge, the lighting was great, and having 3 tvs was a fun novelty. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glernis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Same old Isle of Capri decor. Doesn't look like anyone has cleaned in a long time. Looking for a change from the Horseshoe, which is beginning to look tired too, I can't believe I am paying for this room. Next trip....different casino for sure.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDonna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

At one time my husband and I went to Shreveport-Bossier two or three times a year. Things have happened and we just don't get to get-away as much. But, we finally got things arranged to go to Shreveport this past weekend. We usually stay at the El Dorado because my husband plays Texas Hold 'Em but it was completely full on Saturday night and I didn't want to move for just Saturday night before coming home on Sunday. So, instead we stayed at DiamondJacks'. Our room was great, check-in was fine and everything about our stay was perfect. Didn't win much money but shopping was good!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShariSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bossier City
0.3 mi away
Boomtown Hotel Casino
Boomtown Hotel Casino
#17 of 35 in Bossier City
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horseshoe Casino Luxury All-Suite Hotel
1.2 mi away
Sam's Town Hotel and Casino Shreveport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Shreveport Bossier City
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bossier City
Wingate by Wyndham Bossier City
#10 of 35 in Bossier City
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Shreveport-Bossier City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondJacks Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondJacks Casino and Resort

Property: DiamondJacks Casino and Resort
Address: 711 Diamondjacks Blvd, Bossier City, LA 71111-5046
Location: United States > Louisiana > Bossier City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Bossier City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DiamondJacks Casino and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 497
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your DiamondJacks Casino and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondjacks Hotel Bossier City
Isle Capri Hotel Casino Bossier City La
Diamondjacks Bossier City
Isle Capri Bossier La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing