We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Panama's Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Islas Secas Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Islas Secas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Islas Secas Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Islas Secas
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Panama's Best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

This place is so good it is hard to describe. Imagine the Four Seasons meets luxury camping on the most gorgeous islands imaginable. Islas Secas is like staying at your rich uncles private family island compound. The food is excellent, the diving is great, there are lots of lovely trails through the forests. We especially liked the kayaking and the massages. This is not the place for folks who do not have a sense of adventure. If you wear Gucci loafers and can not live without air conditioning this place is not for you. If you want to be treated really well and have an entire pristine group of tropical islands all to yourself at a very fair price for what you get then Islas Secas has no equal.

  • Liked — Pristine environment
  • Disliked — Spectacular views
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank globe_trotting5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

Stayed at the resort for a week with my family. Resort is a work that should be taken lightly, as there is just rooms and a small eating area. No pool or air conditioning. The price is more than a four seasons, yet the service and food is mediocore. It really feels like a backpackers place, not a high end eco resort. Either way, we had good snorkeling but the diving was very challenging with severe currents. The dive master, Doug, said that was common. Oh well. Good weather during the day. Rain at night, with very leaking "yurts" as rooms. The islands are beautiful, but the resort needs a lot of work. Last thing, the landing strip is terrrifying and my husband , who is a pilot, said that it was probably illegal and very dangerous.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Resort
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure they have redone it
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Cenamertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISR_Management, Manager at Islas Secas Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2006
Contrary to the posting from September 2006, the runway at Islas Secas is certified annually by the Panamanian FAA. The runway is over twice as long as the ground roll required for the planes that fly in and out. According to our chief pilot Will Holliday "what is unsafe or outside the capacity of one pilot can be safe and well within the ability of another. Your average weekend warrior pilot's words are as worthless as me making comments that landing on the moon is unsafe."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

Just returned from a wonderful week at Islas Secas in Panama. I was worried that there would not be enough to do.....wrong! We enjoyed hiking, beaching, shell hunting, fishing, snokeling, kayaking, hoobie catting all in the pristine and unique setting of your own private island!!! The food was unbelievable and compared to any food I have had at any 5 star hotel. Alex, the chef, was creative and wonderful. The resorts hosts, Guy and Deborah were the kindest and most accommodating hosts one could imagine. They were very interesting, and most hospitable. In fact, we felt that we were treasured friends that were being entertained royally at their private home. If someone wants to get away from the masses and enjoy tropical islands in a pristine and natural state....with the comfort of 5 star food and service....this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bakecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islas Secas
0.0 mi away
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
Cala Mia Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Popa Paradise Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
Panama Big Game Fishing Club
#1 of 3 in Isla Boca Brava
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islas Secas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islas Secas Resort

Property: Islas Secas Resort
Address: Islas Secas Archipelago, Chiriqui Province, Panama
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Islas Secas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Islas Secas
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Islas Secas Resort sits upon sixteen pristine, jungle-clad volcanic islands located in the Pacific Ocean, twenty-five miles south of mainland Panama. We have commenced with an exciting project at Islas Secas to upgrade the guest facilities and enrich programming. These enhancements will require us to remain closed for the 2013/2014 season. Please be sure to stay tuned to our website to stay up to date with the project and we look forward to welcoming you to enjoy all the recreation and relaxation Islas Secas has to offer soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Islas Secas Hotel Chiriqui Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing