We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a loyal Marriott Fan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel killed my love for Courtyard by Marriott. The first room they put us in was on the first floor and smelled like cat urine or mildew. I tried to tolerate it, but after 10-15 minutes in the room I was sneezing. The hotel staff didn't even question it when I told them the room smelled, it was if they already knew, in fact, one of the staff told me that when he first started working at this hotel he stayed in a room that smelled like mildew! Luckily they had another room available, but the new room smelled clean but was sitting right over the freeway, so we listed to freeway noise all night. If that wasn't bad enough, I woke up the next morning and went down to the lobby to check email and drink coffee only to find that there was no coffee!!! They no longer have complimentary coffee in the lobby - if you want coffee you have to buy it at their new trendy "Starbucks" counter. At 5:30 in the morning there is no one working the counter and thus no coffee! I wake up early and typically head down to the lobby to drink coffee for an hour or so before my husband gets up. That way I can check e-mail and get ready for day without making noise in the room. I'm very disappointed that I can no longer do that at Marriott. Will be looking for a new place to stay next trip!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the upper level rooms along the freeway. First floor rooms were fairly quiet...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. We have addressed and fixed the smell issue. Thank you for helping us improve our hotel. I assure you that we will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

The location was perfect for our visit to the LSU campus recently. Within a mile or two there were plenty of places to eat and even has an Outback next door with a path.
The room was what I had requested and was clean. The front desk staff was friendly and accomodating. There were some issues with the key entry for our room, but it was corrected. The hair dryer fell apart and the iron was not working, but both were replaced in minutes.
The pool was not very clean, but the courtyard area was a great place to just relax.
I am sure there are nicer places in the area, but for what I needed the Courtyard fit the bill.
One drawback, was the train that came by around 6:30 am the two mornings we were there. Not a big deal if you are an early riser.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the issues that occurred, and we will do everything we can to prevent them from happening during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I came to Baton Rouge on a 3 night recruiting trip, and this was the most convenient location to the campus that I found. I was pleased with the friendliness of the staff, including front desk, bistro, and custodial staff. The room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint is that I had a room on the side of the building facing I-10, so the road noise was pretty bad. Thankfully I was extremely exhausted, so I slept fine in spite of this. I definitely recommend either an interior courtyard room or one on the other side.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for writing this review. We apologize for the inconvenience of the freeway noise. If you request the other side of the hotel, we will do everything we can to fulfill your request and ensure your stay is enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ring in the toilet!!! Floor had not been vaccummed. I had hair in my bed and there was this sticky stuff on the night stand. I normally do not allow my room to be cleaned while I am there through the week because I do not like anyone in my room. So on Wednesday, I asked for towels from the maid (around noon) and I was told that the they were all out of towels, but I could be given hand towels and wash clothes! The towels I did have....VERY DINGY.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

I'm very sorry about the experience you had during your stay. This is definetly not our standard and nothing like that should ever happen. I sent you a private message with my email attached. I would like to get more information from you so we can find out who cleaned your room and take the necessary actions to prevent this from happening again. Also, we recently ordered towels and I apologize we were low on inventory during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Modern decor, friendly staff, great amenities in the room, can't beat the price. My room was at the end of the hall and there was free Wi-fi. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

I'm happy to see that you commented on the modern decor of the hotel. We are proud to say that we remodled our rooms within the last year. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, older style but clean and comfy. Exercise room a bit small with older equipment. My only complaint is the hard water in the barhroom its takes a lot of effort to get the soap off while taking a shower. Other than that I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments. One of the only ways to improve our hotel is by receiving feedback from our guests. We hope that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were in Baton Rouge for a family wedding. Staying at the Courtyard was a great experience , the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendy. The only prolem we had was a fire alarm went off at 12:30 in the morning and we had to go outside for nothing. But better safe then sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh W, Manager at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

It's great to hear that you had a good experience with your stay. I'm very sorry about the fire alarm. I know how that could have been frustrating. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#35 of 78 in Baton Rouge
128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
#13 of 78 in Baton Rouge
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area

Address: 2421 S Acadian Thruway, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2306 (Formerly Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Thruway/LSU Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $107 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to accentuate travel plans, Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area helps you achieve a memorable stay. Our hotel's location is perfect for future and former students of Louisiana State University. Catch a college football game at Tigers Stadium or find family fun at Blue Bayou Water Park & Dixie Landin'. Refuel after a busy day at our hotel restaurant, The Bistro. Various entrées, Starbucks® beverages and evening cocktails are sure to tantalize and satisfy taste buds. Head to your room or suite where a comfortable bed with lush linens and fluffy pillows awaits. In our accommodations are large flat-panel TVs and free high-speed Wi-Fi, making it easier to feel more at home. Break a sweat in your free time at our on-site fitness center, equipped with cardio machines and free weights. We also offer an outdoor pool with a soothing hot tub. Blend business with leisure when you stay at Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baton Rouge Acadian Hotel Baton Rouge
Courtyard Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Courtyard
Baton Rouge Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing