We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed for one night to go to the 13th gates I forgot my power bank charger wire and wall adaptor and they found it and mailed it to me they were very friendly. Thanks They were very welcoming we had a great night sleep and the best part is that they are pet friendly

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nell fav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    41
    37
    31
    24
See reviews for
40
20
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Youngsville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband stayed at the Holiday Inn for a couple of weeks for business. I went for a weekend and just hung out in the room. The carpet was filthy for starters. There was nothing fancy about the amenities. I ordered room service and it took almost an hour to get to me. I couldn't even cut through the toast. It was cold and hard. The pancakes were horrible; so much that I couldn't eat them. I've never not been able to eat pancakes before! My biggest complaint is the housekeeping. I was watching football on a Sunday in my pajamas. My husband had left to go get us food (since I wasn't about to try room service again) and made sure the Do Not Disturb sign was on the door. A few minutes after he left, a guy knocked and said housekeeping. I didn't answer because I knew the sign was on the door and it freaked me out since it was a male's voice. Before I know it, he walked in! I charged the door and told him to get out. I then said the sign was on the door, but I didn't see it. He had it in his hand and said, "Oh, it's right here. I thought you guys left." Creepy to say the least. We called and complained, but it didn't do anything to calm my nerves. It made me feel as if they were watching the room and saw him leave. Good thing I wasn't in the shower or anything!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Nicole G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We sincerely apologize for the food served during your travel did not meet your expectations and we are truly sorry for the issues you had with our housekeeping staff. Comments such as yours are very important as it allows us to assess where we have opportunities to make improvements.

It is our hotel's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We value your custom and as always we remain at your disposal.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

While having several other options to choose from, we always come back to this hotel. The hotel is in a great location just off of the interstate, has plenty of parking, both indoor and outdoor swimming pools and a bar/cafe on site. If you have the option of an interior vs exterior room, choose the interior. Although the exterior rooms are just fine, the interior rooms eliminate the hussle and bustle of everyone loading and unloaded the cars and the noise from the parking lot. The only problem we had was the slow draining tub. I complained to the staff and was immediately offered a new room or someone could come up and fix it. The front desk staff was very helpful and had the problems resolved in no time. The cafe and bar area is in the perfect location and has a well trained and polite staff. Kelly by far provided the best service for our dinner and drinks while we watched the LSU game. Security on the other hand (personality of a brick wall)could have worried a little more about stopping the children running around barefooted throughout the lobby and worried a little less about texting on the phone or bothering people sitting in the cafe watching the game! Breakfast is also a plus! The staff was very friendly, food is hot and fresh and you have the option to have a omelet or eggs cooked to your desire. Overall we had a very good stay and will likely come back for several more home games

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you chose the Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South for your overnight accommodations.

We will look forward to your next visit and greatly appreciate all your kind words and praises.

Have a great day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have stayed here several times for business and my last visit was business but was able to bring my family along. As always it was a great stay. The rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly, and the fitness center is always clean and the equipment is functioning. There are three pools including a kiddie pool. One pool is indoor and outdoor, you can swim under a wall to the indoor part of the pool. On this stay the only issue was with the pool. The first day the pools were very cloudy. You could not see the bottom of the pool at all. However it did get better over the next couple of days. Two tips: 1. The breakfast buffet is not free. However it is a good breakfast, worth the money spent. 2. This hotel has rooms that enter into a hallway and rooms that have an exterior entrance. If you prefer to not have a room that has an exterior entrance, be sure to let the front desk know. It also helps to note it on your reservation.

This is a great choice especially considering the price point.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DMBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed yoru last stay with us and that as a frequent traveler with IHG Rewards that we were able to show you the true meaning of Southern Hospitality.

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your comments with us and we will look forward to your next stay the next time you are in the Baton Rouge area.

Have a great day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Great people who really treat you right. Rooms are updated and comfortable. Breakfast and staff are top of the line.
2nd week here in a month and will be back soon. I spend a lot of time onthe road and am in Baton Rouge a lot and now have a new favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay - and our staff went above and beyond to make you feel at home.

We are estatic to know that we are your home away from home when you are in the Baton Rouge area.

Have a great day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for one week for business. Staff was wonderful. Breakfast was the best! Bed was very comfortable and room was spotless. Stayed in newer inside room at end of hall and never heard a thing once inside room! Couldn't ask for better accommodations.

Room Tip: End of hall - away from elevators (although elevators are not adjacent to any room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRM43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful comments, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to your next visit the Baton Rouge area.

Have a great day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ridge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is the best hotel in the area for the price. It cost around $100 and it comes with a free breakfast that is freshly made (get the biscuit & gravy). Comfortable beds & modern room. I even got a free drink at the bar as a welcome. If there is a down fall the area around the hotel isn't the best but I never have felt unsafe.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your comments -- I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to your next visit to our area.

Have a great day!

Janet Paxton, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#24 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#34 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
Red Roof Inn Baton Rouge
#52 of 77 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge East
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#22 of 77 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Address: 9940 Airline Highway, Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South!The Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South is the largest full-service hotel near the city, located less than 6 miles from downtown Baton Rouge, LA and 13 miles from Baton Rouge Metro (BTR). Our prime Baton Rouge location, near Louisiana plantation homes, puts you near Blue Bayou Water Park and Dixie Landin Theme Park as well as Baton Rouge Town Center shopping. Our hotel s recent renovation of 334 well-appointed guestrooms and suites includes a state-of-the-art fitness facility, indoor and outdoor pools, Business Center with complimentary High Speed Internet access and complimentary wireless Internet access in the atrium areas. On-site is the full-service Cafe Galvez Restaurant & Bar, and the Alamo Lounge for after dinner cordials. Room service is available from 6am until 11pm.Our location near downtown Baton Rouge puts us close to: LSU, Louisiana Arts & Sciences Museum/Planetarium, Southern University, the Louisiana State Capital, the Mall of Louisiana, the USS Kidd, the Greater Baton Rouge Zoo, and Casino Rouge.Holiday Inn South features more than 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with a special reception capacity for up to 500. Our experienced staff is more than happy to help with all arrangements for your conference, wedding, exhibit or special event we are your first choice in Baton Rouge! Relax, it s Holiday Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing