We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Elysian Fields, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stay at a lot of Holiday Inns..Platinum Member...90 nights so far this year at HI. I guess overall I was major underwhelmed. At check in I was not greeted as Priority member although I was given a coupon for a discount at the restaurant that I did use.

The main building is Holiday Inn all the way...attractive and very nice. It is not untill you are assigned your room and you begin walking that...uhm....you realize you have been sent to steerage. Remember in the movie "Titanic"? Where the poor people have their rooms??
The "blocks" as I believe they call them are nothing more than crummy Days Inn buildings. Thin walls, small rooms, cheesy furniture and if remember correctly, even the TV was an old CRT.
It reminded me of the bad old days when I had to stay in these type of places. The crappy curtians that kind of don't close, the concrete walk ways outside your door, people stomping back and forth all night. The only thing missing was the rude Indian at check in.

Now-to be fair...the bed was typical wonderfull Holiday Inn comfortable as were the linens ect. Everything was clean...this was NOT an issue at all. I ate at the restaurant and it was quite good- I was served at the bar. With the coupon it came to, like 5 bucks for diiner! Think I had a club sandwich and it was very good. I am certian if you are to stay in the main building, you would not have gotten the feeling I did. The grounds are well manicured and quite attractive.

I guess I can sum it up this way. The price was as high as I am used to. The room was not worth the bucks or what I expected. The whole place left me feeling a bit cool. For the heavy traveler, you come to really appriciate the feeling of being welcomed and the minor interations you have with the staff. You will not feel like much staying here. If charged a lower rate I would not have felt as I do.

BTW...my "poor" rating is ONLY as compared to other Holiday Inn properties. Not to be confused with Hindu-huts.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the main building- or you will be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Tim H,
Thank you for being such a loyal Priority Club member. You are clearly making the Holiday Inn brand your choice hotel and for that we are very grateful. Being a top tier Platinum level guest is very special and I apologize that my staff did not acknowledge your status. I will personally work with them to ensure that we are giving the proper welcome in the future. Also, I understand your concerns about our exterior rooms. While they are the same dimensions and have the same furniture as the interior rooms, I can see how you could feel separated by the pools and the garden. We do still have a few rooms that do not have the new flat screen TVs but as part of our commitment to constantly improving the property we have developed a plan to get them installed sooner rather than later. I am glad that you enjoyed your food in the restaurant! Our new Executive Chef has developed a new menu that we have just began using and your feedback helps us know if our changes are pleasing to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we can improve. If you find yourself in town again give us a call and feel free to request a tower room. We would love another chance to take care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    31
    23
    17
See reviews for
34
17
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our 8th Reunion and by far the best...The entire hotel departments from Housekeeping to Sales to Food & Beverage were outstanding.Never received any complaints from the 140 attendees.I must mention Ms. Heather Day(Sales Manager)as been the reasons why this reunion was outstanding.Her and I have been planning this reunion since September/2010 and because of her dedication,professionalism and her ability to resolve problems and issues made this reunion very unique and special.

Room Tip: Some rooms may not have the view that you are comfortable with.Check with the front desk before rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Wow, thank you for such a nice compliment! It means a lot to us that you and your group were all so satisfied! We really enjoyed having you here... some of the people in your group had really great stories to tell. I'm especially happy to hear our sales manager Heather took such good care of you. She along with the rest of the staff are such hard workers and I'm glad you were able to enjoy the fruits of our labors. That's why we are in this business. People like yourself motivate us to do our best each and everyday. Thank you again for your kind words. We can't wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbm59
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here 11 days until a Marriott property became available. I was in Baton Rouge on business. I arrived close to 11:00 pm, at check in Jason appeared annoyed I had arrived He didn't ask for my Priority memebership number, didn't give me the complimentary breakfast coupon and the $5.00 off dinner coupon. This hotel has rooms above the lobby and rooms NOT attached to lobby. This section is 2 floors with no elevator. The room are medicore at best. The door doesn't open to an enclosed hallway it more like a "motel" setting. NO small fridge or microwave for the room. A co-worker left her cell phone charger in room and had asked Jason if he could get housekeeping to get it and leave at front dsk for me to get. When I inquired about the charger the evening staff ws very rude, asking me who all kinds of questions about who she spoke to, needless to say the charger was not found. The breakfast buffett was excellent and the hostess Mary IS THE NICEST EMPLOYEE THEY HAVE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Mbm59,
I am truly sorry that our desk staff did not make you feel welcomed or acknowledge your status as a Priority Club member. I can understand what an inconvenience it must have been to not receive the meal coupon or your cell phone charger and I apologize for that as well. It is never our intention to make our guests feel unappreciated. I am happy to hear that your experience with Ms. Mary in the restaurant was much better and I will personally address the front desk staff to ensure that we leave you with a more positive experience on your next visit. Thank you for sharing your comments and helping us to become better customer service specialists!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Lobby is nice, but the Southwest theme is odd for this part of the country.
Hotel is made up of a newer tower and an older "exterior" section - think old motel with outside walkways. I just don't feel safe with people walking by my door and window all night.
New decor is nice, but they didn't seem to improve the facilities/mechanics. First room we were in had soaking wet carpet and the air conditioner didn't work. Second room had a wet spot near the bathroom sink. I set a towel over it and was disgusted to see it soaked up some dark brown liquid! Gross!!
A/C units leak water all over the sidewalks. They are loud and don't cool the rooms efficiently or evenly.
Rust spots near the door locks made me feel unsafe like the lock could be pried off and the room broken into.
Curtains don't cover the windows completely to block out the lights from the parking lot.
Bed was comfortable, but the pillows are the size of airplane pillows. Was pleased to see plain white duvets and sheets that were very clean instead of those nasty old bedspreads.
No safe in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenericUserID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. While I am glad that you like our remodel, I can see how the theme can be slightly confusing. It is a nod to the Spanish influence in Louisiana back in the mid 1700's. Our way of standing out among other local hotels. We are aware that we still have PTAC units that should be replaced and every month we are switching out old ones for new ones. The inconsistencies with our older units are what cause the various problems that you described. Also, I will certainly address the rust spots on the security latches with maintenance to ensure proper working order in all of our rooms. If we ever have the pleasure of having you back please know that we offer a pillow menu so that you may choose a pillow that better suites you, but I am glad you noticed the cleanliness of the bed! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 days after Isaac. My room smelled horrible and had a big wet spot by the window. Curtains were stained and ceiling leaked. Don't you check your rooms before selling them? Was already stressed and did not want move. Came home sick. Air conditioning didn't work. Had it on 62 and only felt 70.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Chrissiclay,
I sincerely apologize for your sub-par accommodations during your stay with us. You're right, we should be checking each and every room consistently to ensure that it is perfect for every guest. As part of the new management team I can assure you that clean, comfortable, and operational accommodations are our goal. We are slowly making progress towards this goal and day by day we are making the necessary changes to prevent future guests from having the same experience that you had. Since your stay, we have implemented a more detailed process for inspecting our rooms. Thank you for your honesty and I invite you to return in the future to enjoy us at our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
528 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older Holiday Inn but if really has been updated a time or two and the owners apparently are trying. It is clean and very close to the freeway. Plenty of parking and seemed very busy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, we have been through a tremendous amount of renovations and are pleased you have noticed. We hope when you return to Baton Rouge, you will give us a call as your preferred hotel in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We will look forward to your return visit here at Holiday Inn South Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One night stay at a great hotel. The location was perfect and easy to get to. I arrived late and the front desk (Maggie) had me checked in quickly and even called the bar to ask them to stay open just a bit longer so that I could grab a quick drink before I went up to my room. Rooms are a good size and nicely equipped. The mattress was fantastic. Normally, I never sleep the first night in a hotel. But, this hotel, I slept straight through to the alarm. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiwhite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is obvious that you understand how much positive feedback can mean to hotel staff. We have shared your review and comments with our staff. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to recognize those individuals who met or exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking a few moments of your valuable time and we hope to see you again soon!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#21 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#20 of 72 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
#53 of 72 in Baton Rouge
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Siegen Lane
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Address: 9940 Airline Hwy, Baton Rouge, LA 70816-8100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South!The Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South is the largest full-service hotel near the city, located less than 6 miles from downtown Baton Rouge, LA and 13 miles from Baton Rouge Metro (BTR). Our prime Baton Rouge location, near Louisiana plantation homes, puts you near Blue Bayou Water Park and Dixie Landin Theme Park as well as Baton Rouge Town Center shopping. Our hotel s recent renovation of 334 well-appointed guestrooms and suites includes a state-of-the-art fitness facility, indoor and outdoor pools, Business Center with complimentary High Speed Internet access and complimentary wireless Internet access in the atrium areas. On-site is the full-service Cafe Galvez Restaurant & Bar, and the Alamo Lounge for after dinner cordials. Room service is available from 6am until 11pm.Our location near downtown Baton Rouge puts us close to: LSU, Louisiana Arts & Sciences Museum/Planetarium, Southern University, the Louisiana State Capital, the Mall of Louisiana, the USS Kidd, the Greater Baton Rouge Zoo, and Casino Rouge.Holiday Inn South features more than 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with a special reception capacity for up to 500. Our experienced staff is more than happy to help with all arrangements for your conference, wedding, exhibit or special event we are your first choice in Baton Rouge! Relax, it s Holiday Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing