We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Meanest Desk Staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
mbm59
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Meanest Desk Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed here 11 days until a Marriott property became available. I was in Baton Rouge on business. I arrived close to 11:00 pm, at check in Jason appeared annoyed I had arrived He didn't ask for my Priority memebership number, didn't give me the complimentary breakfast coupon and the $5.00 off dinner coupon. This hotel has rooms above the lobby and rooms NOT attached to lobby. This section is 2 floors with no elevator. The room are medicore at best. The door doesn't open to an enclosed hallway it more like a "motel" setting. NO small fridge or microwave for the room. A co-worker left her cell phone charger in room and had asked Jason if he could get housekeeping to get it and leave at front dsk for me to get. When I inquired about the charger the evening staff ws very rude, asking me who all kinds of questions about who she spoke to, needless to say the charger was not found. The breakfast buffett was excellent and the hostess Mary IS THE NICEST EMPLOYEE THEY HAVE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Mbm59,
I am truly sorry that our desk staff did not make you feel welcomed or acknowledge your status as a Priority Club member. I can understand what an inconvenience it must have been to not receive the meal coupon or your cell phone charger and I apologize for that as well. It is never our intention to make our guests feel unappreciated. I am happy to hear that your experience with Ms. Mary in the restaurant was much better and I will personally address the front desk staff to ensure that we leave you with a more positive experience on your next visit. Thank you for sharing your comments and helping us to become better customer service specialists!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    31
    25
    17
See reviews for
35
17
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Lobby is nice, but the Southwest theme is odd for this part of the country.
Hotel is made up of a newer tower and an older "exterior" section - think old motel with outside walkways. I just don't feel safe with people walking by my door and window all night.
New decor is nice, but they didn't seem to improve the facilities/mechanics. First room we were in had soaking wet carpet and the air conditioner didn't work. Second room had a wet spot near the bathroom sink. I set a towel over it and was disgusted to see it soaked up some dark brown liquid! Gross!!
A/C units leak water all over the sidewalks. They are loud and don't cool the rooms efficiently or evenly.
Rust spots near the door locks made me feel unsafe like the lock could be pried off and the room broken into.
Curtains don't cover the windows completely to block out the lights from the parking lot.
Bed was comfortable, but the pillows are the size of airplane pillows. Was pleased to see plain white duvets and sheets that were very clean instead of those nasty old bedspreads.
No safe in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GenericUserID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. While I am glad that you like our remodel, I can see how the theme can be slightly confusing. It is a nod to the Spanish influence in Louisiana back in the mid 1700's. Our way of standing out among other local hotels. We are aware that we still have PTAC units that should be replaced and every month we are switching out old ones for new ones. The inconsistencies with our older units are what cause the various problems that you described. Also, I will certainly address the rust spots on the security latches with maintenance to ensure proper working order in all of our rooms. If we ever have the pleasure of having you back please know that we offer a pillow menu so that you may choose a pillow that better suites you, but I am glad you noticed the cleanliness of the bed! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 days after Isaac. My room smelled horrible and had a big wet spot by the window. Curtains were stained and ceiling leaked. Don't you check your rooms before selling them? Was already stressed and did not want move. Came home sick. Air conditioning didn't work. Had it on 62 and only felt 70.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy_Bolden, Manager at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Chrissiclay,
I sincerely apologize for your sub-par accommodations during your stay with us. You're right, we should be checking each and every room consistently to ensure that it is perfect for every guest. As part of the new management team I can assure you that clean, comfortable, and operational accommodations are our goal. We are slowly making progress towards this goal and day by day we are making the necessary changes to prevent future guests from having the same experience that you had. Since your stay, we have implemented a more detailed process for inspecting our rooms. Thank you for your honesty and I invite you to return in the future to enjoy us at our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
537 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is an older Holiday Inn but if really has been updated a time or two and the owners apparently are trying. It is clean and very close to the freeway. Plenty of parking and seemed very busy. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cokerbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, we have been through a tremendous amount of renovations and are pleased you have noticed. We hope when you return to Baton Rouge, you will give us a call as your preferred hotel in the area.

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We will look forward to your return visit here at Holiday Inn South Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One night stay at a great hotel. The location was perfect and easy to get to. I arrived late and the front desk (Maggie) had me checked in quickly and even called the bar to ask them to stay open just a bit longer so that I could grab a quick drink before I went up to my room. Rooms are a good size and nicely equipped. The mattress was fantastic. Normally, I never sleep the first night in a hotel. But, this hotel, I slept straight through to the alarm. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikiwhite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. It is obvious that you understand how much positive feedback can mean to hotel staff. We have shared your review and comments with our staff. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to recognize those individuals who met or exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking a few moments of your valuable time and we hope to see you again soon!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Staci,
All of your team did a terrific job last weekend for our assembly group. The people working the restaurant, the registration, Maggie and the maintenance people, Amos and others. All of them had big smiles and were helpful. Oh, yes, security is included, Housekeeping, too.
Let me tell you a little story that happen at the Holiday Inn in Baton Rouge a few months ago. I was at a convention at the hotel and realized that I forgot my phone charger. I was telling someone at the convention that I didn't have my charger and one of the maintenance men was walking by and heard me talking. He told me to go to the front desk and asked to see the chargers that people had left in their rooms. A registration person let me look in a large box of chargers, but I could not find one that fit my phone. The next suggestion was to go to housekeeping and asked them. A lady at housekeeping took my cell phone and went into another room and in 3 or 4 minutes came back with a cell phone charger that fit my phone. She said I could have it, so I gave her a tip and use that phone charger when I'm traveling. I stay at this Holiday inn 5 or 6 times a year and the staff is always helpful. Keep up the good work. It's a team effort.
Terry R

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you Mr. Terry for the great review. We enjoy the positive feedback of our hotel. We have shared this review with our staff and strive for the best customer service possible. We look forward to the return of your group each quarter. Thank you again for the time you took to review the hotel.
Allison Crump
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

VERY OVER RATED!!! I'm sure if you get a room in the newer section you will find the ratings suitable otherwise, very mis-leading. I wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BobOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigergirl2, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re very sorry you found our exterior guest rooms to be unfavorable. We have many guest who enjoy and request the exterior accommodations. These rooms are newly renovated and are larger than the interior guest rooms. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Holiday Inn South Baton Rouge. We hope you consider our hotel on your next visit and request our Tower Rooms. Thank you again for your time and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#24 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#21 of 72 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Baton Rouge East
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
Days Inn Baton Rouge South
#53 of 72 in Baton Rouge
3.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel

Property: Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel
Address: 9940 Airline Hwy, Baton Rouge, LA 70816-8100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South!The Holiday Inn Baton Rouge-South is the largest full-service hotel near the city, located less than 6 miles from downtown Baton Rouge, LA and 13 miles from Baton Rouge Metro (BTR). Our prime Baton Rouge location, near Louisiana plantation homes, puts you near Blue Bayou Water Park and Dixie Landin Theme Park as well as Baton Rouge Town Center shopping. Our hotel s recent renovation of 334 well-appointed guestrooms and suites includes a state-of-the-art fitness facility, indoor and outdoor pools, Business Center with complimentary High Speed Internet access and complimentary wireless Internet access in the atrium areas. On-site is the full-service Cafe Galvez Restaurant & Bar, and the Alamo Lounge for after dinner cordials. Room service is available from 6am until 11pm.Our location near downtown Baton Rouge puts us close to: LSU, Louisiana Arts & Sciences Museum/Planetarium, Southern University, the Louisiana State Capital, the Mall of Louisiana, the USS Kidd, the Greater Baton Rouge Zoo, and Casino Rouge.Holiday Inn South features more than 9,000 square feet of flexible meeting space with a special reception capacity for up to 500. Our experienced staff is more than happy to help with all arrangements for your conference, wedding, exhibit or special event we are your first choice in Baton Rouge! Relax, it s Holiday Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing