We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
Ranked #28 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly”
Reviewed January 10, 2008

The hotel is pet friendly and the fees are very low ($25) compared to the Marriott ($75). The reception area had doggie treats available for the pets (both cats and dogs). The cleanliness of the hotel is questionable. One of the elevators smelled horrible, like it hasn't been cleaned in ages. Response time for services is slow. We asked for toliet paper and never received any, ended up waiting the following morning. Also the TV remote battery was bad, asked for replacement batteies and never received any. The only great thing about this place is that its pet-friendly.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank optimistic15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    83
    62
    37
    31
See reviews for
41
49
14
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

I totally agree with the posting in the blog about the how clean the place is. My room had a smell along with the hall. Linens on the bed were fine, but the walls were dirty along with electric outlets, etc. Also it was strange that the GM of the hotel is checking in guest.s I asked a couple of hotel employees and they told me that it was in fact the GM and all he wants to do per them is work the desk. I believe he needs to inspect rooms as well.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank shvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

I stay in hotels frequently for business travel. This was my first Holiday Inn chain stay.

The room was adequate, although the furniture a bit worn. The table and chairs in the room were rudimentary. The bed was reasonable. While I did not find it uncomfortable, coming from Marriott and Hilton affiliated properties, the bed was not anywhere near as comfortable as other comparable hotels, including the neighboring Embassy Suites, Marriott and Courtyard Marriott.

The air conditioning unit was a bit noisy (a pet peeve of mine.)

The staff was friendly at the hotel. The pool looked inviting, although I did not make use of it.

These were my key issues:

1. Cleanliness: I dropped my cell phone and, in bending down to pick it up, noticed the floor under the bed. It was filthy! Clearly, the underside of the bed had not seen a vacuum in some time. I could actually see the layer of dust on the floor. Additionally, and perhaps more offensively, there were used tissues in addtion to cellophane cracker wrappers under the bed. Made me wonder if I was breathing in someone's cold germs all night. In over 50 hotels I've stayed in during the past year or two, I found this the least clean room I've stayed in.

2. Business Center: The size of this was not adequate for the size/nature of the hotel. This hotel frequently holds large meetings/conventions and many of these attendees seem to come down to use the business center. Thus, it is not uncommon to find a line and have to wait for quite some time to be able to just print out one page.

I chose not to stay in this hotel again in subsequent trips to Baton Rouge.

  • Liked — Location - convenient to restaurants, stores, etc.
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness in room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

Hotel was overpriced and a bit dirty. When I stay in any hotel the first place I look to make sure it is clean is the bathroom. When we arrived there was old soap in the soap dish. The television reception was poor. The only good I can say is that the bed was clean and very comfortable. Another plus is that this Hotel is in a very good location for Restaurants and shops. Just OK

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

My partner and I just spent a night at the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. We were in Baton Rouge for a party and pretty much choose this hotel based on the Holiday Inn Brand. There were no reviews available on this hotel and since it was just one night - we figured it would be fine.

Of note, this is a rather large hotel which has been several other hotels in the recent past.

At any rate, we checked in through a nice lobby with friendly staff. Parking was adequate. We booked a standard room with a king sized bed. There was a large convention in town and the hotel was full.

The first thing I noticed were that the elevators were in need of a very good cleaning. There were six elevators and we found this condition in the three that we took.

Upon entry into our very warm room (not good in July in Louisiana), we found that the room had not been vacuumed. There were papers on the floor by the door and you could tell there was residual debris left by the previous occupants. There was an odd smell in the room which never got better. I thought for a moment about requesting another room; however, we already knew the hotel was full. The room was and is in need of a serious cleaning. So, tryin' to make the best of it, we turned on the air conditioner, which struggled to take the edge off of the heat , and headed for the pool.

One positive is that the pool is very nice. The surrounding area is large with many tables and chaise lounges.

We went back to our room to take showers and get ready for the party (the reason we were in Baton Rouge). The room was still warm, odor is still there,debris still on the floor.

That's when I really noticed the size of the bathroom. Very, very tiny. European tiny. No counter space for any of your products. Hotel sized tub with neurotic showerhead. If you turned it to a different setting, the water came out of the mirror (not making this up).

No cold water, at all. Only warm and hot. Great if you're in Alaska but bad in Louisiana in July.

Another positive is that we required additional towels. One call to the front desk and 3 additional sets of towels were delivered. The staff are great. No complaints at all on that front.

Okay, hot day in Louisiana, warm air conditioner, warm shower, odd smelling room. Time to get ready for the party. Grab the ironing board (broken at a very odd angle), grabbed the iron, it came off the wall with all of the hardware attached, plugged it in - spit hot water all over me and my cocktail dress. Not good. TammieLand tryin' to make the best of it but I'm beginning to be a little annoyed.

Another positive: Called the front desk - asked for a cab. Cab was called immediately. Again, great service by the hotel staff.

Upon return to the warm, unvaccumed, odd smelling little room which was to be our home for the night, I took another hot shower and went to bed, only to be awakened by noises, inside of the room which sounded like a rodent. At this point, I was ready to get up, pack up and leave our warm, unvaccumed, odd smelling little room.

Needless to say, I would never stay there again. We paid, with all of the taxes, surcharges, etc., $169.00 for this room, in my opinion that was about 90.00 too much.

Oh, one last positive - The hotel is pet friendly. They have a precious little table in the lobby with doggie biscuits for their pet guests.

I hope this helps!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The roon
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask to see your room before you move in.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TammmieLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

Forced to spend three nights here as a result of a convention, I can truly say: stay away. The good parts of the hotel are a nice pool and a decent lobby. The banquet food wasn't bad. The people are nice at the front desk. And the wireless internet system is free and fast.

After that it's all downhill. The maid service was horrible. Coffee cups and glasses were never replaced. Two towels took the place of three. The coffee maker was left dirty and no replacement coffee was left. Items left in the trash weren't disposed of. The bathtub wasn't cleaned during our entire stay of three nights.

The bathrooms are tiny and the toilets have old mineral stains (there are products to remove those!). The king sized bed we slept on was obviously old and we had to phone for sheets for the pull out sofa bed every night.

Bring your house shoes because the carpet is dirty. And the in-room air conditioning unit (no central system) roars like a hurricane.

The rooms are very small and the furniture is worn and rickety.

There is a nice looking Hampton Inn right next door and a Marriott close by and a Comfort Suites across the street. If you have a convention or meeting booked at this hotel, stay somewhere else.

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't stay here.
Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Commtexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
Address: 4728 Constitution Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge (formerly Holiday Inn Select) Enjoy the premier hotel location in the Baton Rouge area. Situated with direct access to I-10 at College Dr. & Constitution Ave., the hotel is conveniently located to shopping, dining, local attractions & corporate headquarters. Business travelers appreciate the hotel s proximity of the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge to Shell Oil, Exxon Mobil, Shaw Group, & Dow Chemical. The hotel is also within minutes of several renowned medical facilities such as Mary Byrd Perkins Center, Our Lady of the Lake Hospital, Baton Rouge General, Pennington Biomedical Research Center & Ochsner Health System. The River Center is a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Leisure guests will find the Crowne Plaza Executive Center Baton Rouge the perfect base for exploring local attractions such as Louisiana State University (LSU), USS Kidd, Southern University (SU), the Blue Bayou Waterpark & Dixie L&in . Shoppers will love visiting The Mall of Louisiana, Perkins Rowe, Tanger Outlets, & Towne Center. A day trip to New Orleans French Quarter entertainment is a quick trip down I-10. The hotel features a business center, free wireless Internet, a 24 hour health club, restaurant, lounge, & gift shop. The plaza level offers a private lounge & concierge service. Relax in our tropical outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing