We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost”
Reviewed August 7, 2008

The worst Embassy Suites I have ever stayed at, and glad it was for only one night since. The property fails every standard from deceptive booking information, to poor service, and exceptionally filthy rooms and common areas.

After being told that the property was ''completely" renovated in 2007 I was astonished to see the poor condition upon arrival. Elevators don't work; hallway lighting is almost non existent; room service trays and other hotel service items cluttered all over the place; interior carpeting is disgusting; tiles cracked; stucco hallways look like they were painted by a three year old and omnipresent smell of mildew everywhere.

Rooms are decorated with furniture that must have been found at a hotel furniture close out store, television sets are at least 10 years old. Bed linens are threadbare, and although I requested a non smoking room there was an incredible smell of stale, recent, and frequent smoke.

I travel frequently for business and this is so under performing, I would be amazed that Hilton would allow the Embassy Suites flag to fly there much longer without significant investment and a willing management.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TXTravelPublisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    212
    167
    118
    88
See reviews for
312
129
24
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Checking in went fine, no problems, but the hotel seems old, and has a funny smell like it hasn't been cleaned in awhile. Our room didn't seem to have been cleaned properly before we arrived and we didn't have a remote for our tv and although we requested it they never brought it. I am usually not very picky and don't write many reviews but for what we paid I don't feel like this Embassy lived up to others we have stayed in. The breakfast that is usually amazing what burned and unorganized, they were running out of things and the quality of food was just poor. Very sad. The pool was a mess and we only stayed poolside for about 20 minutes with our kiddo's cause it was just not very clean. Embassy needs to do some work on this one. What a bummer.

  • Liked — check in was smooth
  • Disliked — smell was dingy, lack of updating, poor cook to order breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texanmom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

widallas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2008

I agree with some of the earlier reviews -- very nice staff (including management), but Hilton should be ashamed for not putting some money into renovating. This could be a lovely hotel, but its outdated, moldy and grungy. Slap all the emblems and monograms on that you'd like -- when the room is moldy, the vents have film on them, there's a weird dead beetle stuck on the wall when you look up over the bed, and (my personal favorite) the AC drain comes out over the bathtub, trickling cold water down your back the entire time....it's not up to Embassy standards. Or at least, it shouldn't be.

Like I said, staff was great -- very helpful, and the evening reception was o.k. Very nice breakfast. They just don't have much to work with. Fork up some renovation money Hilton!!!

  • Liked — Nice staff, nice hot breakfast
  • Disliked — Condition of hotel overall
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank widallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston and surrounding areas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I have stayed in numerous embassy suites and this was by far the nastiest. Where to begin---we went to our assigned room and there was a room service tray outside our room from a previous guest that was not removed for 2 days. We repeatedly asked the front desk to recode our key cards because they only worked twice throughout the 3 days. The lock on our door locked half of the time with no resolve from the front desk. 2 of the 4 elevators had problems either getting stuck or just not working. The absolute highlight was when a member of our party's vehicle was broken into and many items were stolen. Apparently this hotel has this problem often due to the lack of security cameras on their building. I am surprised that Hilton would put their name on this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mulva5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2008

After traveling for a family reunion in Houma, my wife and I stayed the night here prior to flying home to Detroit. The hotel is a bit dated, however there was nothing wrong the room. We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room; we called down to the front desk and were told that if they could not fix it in "FIVE" minutes that they would move us to another room. Within three minutes 2 members of the hotel staff had visited our room and were helping us carry our luggage to the new room 3 doors down. This is the type of service I wish every hotel offered. We were very impressed and will be staying here again in September. The bed was very comfortable, like sleeping in my own. Great service and a Great nights sleep, what more could one ask from a hotel.

  • Liked — Great staff and nice bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferretsWarren_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

My family spent one night in the Embassy Suites on our way to take a cruise out of New Orleans. I thought it was the perfect choice for our needs. My daughter loved the indoor pool. I personally love having a separate area to watch TV after my daughter (she is 5) goes to sleep. The hotel could be a bit loud. There was a swim meet in town and the hotel was FULL of kids. Their voices echoed in the atrium as they yelled across the hotel. They went to bed at a decent hour and it didn't bother us at all. This isn't a four star hotel, but it was perfect for us.

  • Liked — The fact tha the room was a large suite
  • Disliked — It was hard to access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houston1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I may be a snobby northerner, but this hotel seems to suffer from the same problem as many other establishments in the deep south - they may look good on the outside, but the inside hasn't been renovated for decades, and it shows.

The website for the hotel says a major renovation took place in 2007, but it's tough to see where this happened. The rooms look old, especially the furniture, the fixtures, and the telephones. The HVAC system was noisy and not that effective, and overall air quality was so-so. The lock was broken on the sliding window/door in the bedroom. The elevators are old and slow. The lobby area is OK. I didn't have time to check out the pool and exercise room.

Cleanliness was an issue. The carpet never seemed to get vacuumed properly, and I was there for a few days. Bathroom was fine. Bedding and pillows were clean but blankets and sheets were old and sub-standard for this hotel class. Then there was a little spider that set up camp on my bed during the daytime, and I had to chase him away every night. I finally had to whack him in the Sopranos sense of the word.

The hotel charges 10 bucks a day for high-speed wireless internet access, and phone charges are very expensive. For this price point, internet and local phone should be free. Not good. The two TVs worked but sound quality wasn't great and one didn't respond well to the remote.

Pluses for the hotel include relatively easy access from major highway, adequate and free parking, good free breakfast, and free cocktails in the evening if you're into that. I also ordered a surprisingly good grilled ribeye steak from room service.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and internet charges
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mossman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
#10 of 77 in Baton Rouge
375 reviews
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
Address: 4914 Constitution Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3327
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a spacious home on the road in Louisiana's capital city at the Embassy Suites Baton Rouge hotel. We have completed a multi-million dollar renovation of all spaces in our hotel. We are centrally located for all that Baton Rouge has to offer. Wake up in a spacious bedroom and revitalize in an elegant bathroom in a two-room suite at Embassy Suites Baton Rouge. All suites offer two 32-inch TVs, a refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave for convenience. Modern cardio machines and weights in the fitness center combine with a pool to allow tailoring any exercise program. Or host any function, from a pre-meeting briefing for 16 to weddings or company seminars for 500. Enjoy a free cooked-to-order breakfast, savor Cajun specialties at Zydeco Bar & Grill, and join us every night at Evening Reception. We also offer a free shuttle to and from the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing