We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baton Rouge Marriott
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed September 15, 2013

An overnight stay for a conference. Our 16th floor room was very nice. Clean and recently renovated with upgraded bath. The carpet was clean and not worn. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The AC worked quite well for us. We found the staff to be very friendly and eager to please. The traffic noise mentioned elsewhere was not an issue for us.
Overall, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Baton Rouge Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Check-in was a friendly experience. We were upgraded to a suite which was very comfortable. This Marriott is an older property but very clean with nice staff. The bar was a nice atmosphere for a quick meet up and snack. The ac in the room to work better but overall great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is an older building that has been upgraded. My room was on the 17th floor and it was clean and well appointed. I was very comfortable. On the down side, the air conditioner was just capable but not much more. The hotel is right next to the highway and you can hear the traffic when you are in your room. It is also very noisy outside. However, it did not impact my sleep. The staff is very friendly. I was treated particularly well by the morning servers in the restaurant. The best aspect of this hotel is it's location.

Room Tip: highest floor
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The first room they gave me smelled horrible-chemically.
The next room also smelled but it wasn't overpowering.
I have been traveling 3 nights a week or for 20+ years. Marriotts have gone DOWNHILL.
This one was no different. They have had financial problems and haven't been maintaining properties. Too bad, I was platinum member for years but am giving up on them.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danieldeneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am being generous to rate this hotel as average. The rooms, while large, lack the amenities found in most modern hotels. The furniture is old; the decor is uninspiring. There is no refrigerator for water or drinks. The television is rather small for the room size. The rooms were noisey; water pipes groaned all night every night. On the other hand, the bed was comfortable and clean. The maids were dependable and worked hard. The biggest problem seemed to be that the hotel simply hasn't worked to keep up with the standards of today's new and modern structures.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the sounds of the water pipes....
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is in a great location for travelers. We checked in late night and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The room was very clean and well appointed. Although this is an older hotel, it is very updated and everything was clean and modern. The bathroom was great and the bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the staff was excellent there and the service was great. Would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jahjay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This large Marriott hotel was very clean, but quite dated. No complaints about the hotel but it just felt old. Front desk staff were excellent and most others cordial. Room was large and comfortable. Elevators were very fast. Meeting rooms were conveniently located and food was good. The location was convenient to the Interstate but the traffic noise was evident.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
#13 of 78 in Baton Rouge
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baton Rouge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baton Rouge Marriott

Address: 5500 Hilton Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $123 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baton Rouge Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of the I-10, Baton Rouge Marriott is a top choice among hotels in downtown Baton Rouge, LA. Our functional, high-rise hotel sits just 4.8 miles from the Louisiana Art & Science Museum and 4 miles from Louisiana State University. We invite you to come relax in one of our guest rooms or guest suites, which boast pillow-top mattresses, separate sitting areas, coffeemakers, and flat-screen TVs. We provide Wi-Fi in our guest rooms and throughout our Baton Rouge, LA hotel. Some of our accommodations also feature mini refrigerators and/ or pull-out sofas. Our upgraded quarters offer access to a hotel club lounge, free breakfast, and complimentary snacks. At Baton Rouge Marriott, guests enjoy many fine amenities including our casual Cajun restaurant, a beautiful wood-paneled Lobby bar, a business center, an exercise room, and an outdoor pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baton Rouge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baton Rouge Marriott Hotel Baton Rouge
Marriott Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing