We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baton Rouge Marriott
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Smelly”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

The first room they gave me smelled horrible-chemically.
The next room also smelled but it wasn't overpowering.
I have been traveling 3 nights a week or for 20+ years. Marriotts have gone DOWNHILL.
This one was no different. They have had financial problems and haven't been maintaining properties. Too bad, I was platinum member for years but am giving up on them.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danieldeneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    82
    93
    47
    24
See reviews for
33
33
17
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I am being generous to rate this hotel as average. The rooms, while large, lack the amenities found in most modern hotels. The furniture is old; the decor is uninspiring. There is no refrigerator for water or drinks. The television is rather small for the room size. The rooms were noisey; water pipes groaned all night every night. On the other hand, the bed was comfortable and clean. The maids were dependable and worked hard. The biggest problem seemed to be that the hotel simply hasn't worked to keep up with the standards of today's new and modern structures.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the sounds of the water pipes....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is in a great location for travelers. We checked in late night and the staff were exceptionally friendly. The room was very clean and well appointed. Although this is an older hotel, it is very updated and everything was clean and modern. The bathroom was great and the bed was very comfortable. We had breakfast at the restaurant and the staff was excellent there and the service was great. Would definitely recommend it and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahjay62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This large Marriott hotel was very clean, but quite dated. No complaints about the hotel but it just felt old. Front desk staff were excellent and most others cordial. Room was large and comfortable. Elevators were very fast. Meeting rooms were conveniently located and food was good. The location was convenient to the Interstate but the traffic noise was evident.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding since the family had reserved a block of rooms. Our view from the 18th floor was great and the location very convenient to shopping, restaurants, the interstate and LSU campus. It was definitely full service with event facilities, lobby bar, restaurant, etc. The room was clean and well appointed.

Room Tip: Next to the interstate so higher rooms probably less noisy. Could hear the traffic but not botherso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Last week I was on business in Baton Rouge and stayed at this hotel. The hotel was recommended by a colleague whom I did not know at the time. He booked the reservation for everyone. It was a very very good choice. The colleague also got a special rate because he was retired military. In any case, the hotel reception staff was extremely pleasant, sociable and knowledgeable. The facility was very well done and appealing to the eye. The rooms were large with new carpet and furniture. The choice of either two queen beds or a king was available. I opted for the king. The bed was very comfortable. The concierge lounge was on the 20th floor and had a nice view. The hours of operation more than exceeded expectations. The breakfast served at 6:30A was very good. One had a choice of cereal, toast, bagels, scrambled eggs or eggs cooked to order. Also, served were 3 types of coffee and juices. Hard boiled eggs were also available. I recommend this hotel if one wants a nice relaxing experience. It can be somewhat pricey without special rates.

Room Tip: Get a room above the 10th floor for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonaid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I always stay at the BR marriott, and have always had a good experience. It is convieniently located and the rooms are nice. The restraunt is also not bad. The only complaint is sometime you can hear the traffic since it is near the interstate.

Room Tip: As for a room on a high floor away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
#12 of 77 in Baton Rouge
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Baton Rouge - College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baton Rouge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baton Rouge Marriott

Property: Baton Rouge Marriott
Address: 5500 Hilton Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baton Rouge Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of the I-10, Baton Rouge Marriott is a top choice among hotels in downtown Baton Rouge, LA. Our functional, high-rise hotel sits just 4.8 miles from the Louisiana Art & Science Museum and 4 miles from Louisiana State University. We invite you to come relax in one of our guest rooms or guest suites, which boast pillow-top mattresses, separate sitting areas, coffeemakers, and flat-screen TVs. We provide Wi-Fi in our guest rooms and throughout our Baton Rouge, LA hotel. Some of our accommodations also feature mini refrigerators and/ or pull-out sofas. Our upgraded quarters offer access to a hotel club lounge, free breakfast, and complimentary snacks. At Baton Rouge Marriott, guests enjoy many fine amenities including our casual Cajun restaurant, a beautiful wood-paneled Lobby bar, a business center, an exercise room, and an outdoor pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Baton Rouge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baton Rouge Marriott Hotel Baton Rouge
Marriott Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing