We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-So hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baton Rouge Marriott
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
williamsburg, virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“So-So hotel”
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Stayed here for one evening on business recently. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and I learned it was originally built as a Hilton Hotel (thus the reason for the location on Hilton Boulevard). My check-in experience was ok and the front desk clerk, although pleasant, was not trained well in terms of his customer service approach. As a gold Marriott member, I was not acknowledged and received a substandard room. When complaining to the manager, I was told that no other room was available (which is hard to believe given the size of the hotel). Normally, I would have been more persistent but I was only staying one night and was tired. Although the rooms have the new Marriott bedding, the furnishings are old, the bed is low to the ground and the mattresses are not the pillow-top type one expects with the new bedding package. The bathrooms have not been renovated and have the old white formica vanities probably leftover from the Hilton. The Club Lounge offerings were ok but the room is dark and dingy and the attendant quite unfriendly. The hallways and elevators are in great need of painting and touch-up. Full-service hotels are not plentiful in Baton Rouge, but if I came back, I would not stay in this hotel. The taxi driver on the way back to the airport suggested the Sheraton and another new hotel which is located downtown near the casinos.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    84
    93
    48
    24
See reviews for
34
33
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2007

The staff was simply OUTSTANDING!!! They great you upon your arrival - ensure you have all the hotel information so you can find your way around quickly and can get settled into your room.

While the hotel is in good shape - they seem to have a few meeting rooms being worked on currently and the 2nd floor that has several meeting rooms is limited in bathrooms.

The exercise room is filled with several newer pieces of equipement.

I would recommend this hotel - keep in mind that you have free internet access only in the hotel lobby - you can get it in your room for $10 a day. Room service was pretty good and arrived within 20 minutes.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank TJTEGTEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2007

I travel nationally and internationally often and used to try to stay
at a Marriott when possible. I also coordinate events and have tried to use the Marriott when possible. No more...

The staff at this hotel was very nice. The hotel is a little aged, but it's not too bad. My problem was that the staff continued to operate an elevator that was stopping above the floor. There were 2 other elevators so they could have shut this one down or at least put a warning sign up. The no-customer service that I have had to deal with since my visit is the reason I tell anyone I know not to stay at any Marriott. The people who answer the phone are pleasant, but they can't do anything. The biggest thing that sets businesses apart these days is service and customer service. The Marriott doesn't seem to care about customer service anymore which means they don't value my business.

  • Liked — Some nice people work there
  • Disliked — They send you to corporat for complaints and Marriott Corporate offers no customer service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NoCustomerService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baton Rouge hotels

Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2006

I love the hotels new beds and renovated rooms. Even free wireless internet in the lobby. The beds were unbelievable. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

Helpful?
1 Thank Dixiebelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 25, 2005

This hotel was great! The Lobby looks lovely, the rooms were nice and spacious, and very comfortable. And for the price it was soooooo inexpensive!!!! I have no complaints with this place, if you stay you'll definately get your money's worth. Bianca, Hawaii

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2004

This hotel is really showing its age..it is time for an extreme makeover.

The high speed internet connection is PATHETIC. It constantly kicks you off requiring you to sign back on. The hotel GENERAL MANAGER is incapable of addressing this problem--her solution was to put me in the same room each week and configure the high speed connection to not require a charge to my room. While this was appreciated, it shows that she is not interested in fixing the problem for other guests (EVERYONE experiences the same problems) or for me when they had to put me in a different room.

The night-time attendant in the Concierge Lounge is absolutely OUSTANDING. It is because of her that i returned week after week.

Being that is rains every day in Baton Rouge, the hotel rooms suffer leaks and mold--peeling wallpaper, etc.

This is obviously a franchised operation in desperate need of serious attention from its owners and certainly from Marriott Corporation...whose reputation suffers because of this run-down property and General Manager incapable of addressing technology problems.

Helpful?
3 Thank jimtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 17, 2004

I was in a group of 8 on a business trip. We chose the hotel because in advertised it has high speed internet access which we needed. Upon arrival, we found that only one of the rooms had internet access and only smoking rooms were available. The other seven had dial up at 19.2kbps...not acceptable. In the room with access, the connection was interrupted every few minutes requiring a re-signon. We also had a conference room and had the same problems with access. All rooms are getting run down, several had toilet challenges. Otherwise, staff was friendly and tried to help. Food in the restaurant was pretty good.
Location was good for us.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
Homewood Suites Baton Rouge
#12 of 77 in Baton Rouge
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baton Rouge Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baton Rouge Marriott

Property: Baton Rouge Marriott
Address: 5500 Hilton Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-2522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baton Rouge Marriott 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of the I-10, Baton Rouge Marriott is a top choice among hotels in downtown Baton Rouge, LA. Our functional, high-rise hotel sits just 4.8 miles from the Louisiana Art & Science Museum and 4 miles from Louisiana State University. We invite you to come relax in one of our guest rooms or guest suites, which boast pillow-top mattresses, separate sitting areas, coffeemakers, and flat-screen TVs. We provide Wi-Fi in our guest rooms and throughout our Baton Rouge, LA hotel. Some of our accommodations also feature mini refrigerators and/ or pull-out sofas. Our upgraded quarters offer access to a hotel club lounge, free breakfast, and complimentary snacks. At Baton Rouge Marriott, guests enjoy many fine amenities including our casual Cajun restaurant, a beautiful wood-paneled Lobby bar, a business center, an exercise room, and an outdoor pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Baton Rouge Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baton Rouge Marriott Hotel Baton Rouge
Marriott Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing