We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Dangerous Part of Town...Don't be Fooled!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed November 14, 2007

I was booked at the Courtyard Marriott, which was overbooked. My reservation was transferred to this hotel.

The Chateau Louisianne is in an area of town known as "Mall City" which is one of the most dangerous and crime-ridden parts of Baton Rouge. There is NO SECURITY at this hotel and I'd advise you to enter the hotel during daylight and not leave after dark. There are vagrants walking down the street and loitering around Lobdell Blvd and in the parking lot panhandling.

The front desk staff are unconcerned about security. My call was met with a terse "keep your doors locked" statement from the front desk before I was disconnected.

In terms of facilities, the hotel is worn down and tired. The courtyard is acceptable. The continental breakfast isn't anything that you couldn't get at another hotel.

For the price this hotel charges, it's an exceptionally poor value. It's like a regular Best Western with larger rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bryan240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2007

Don't think I would stay at this hotel again for a few reasons. First off, it is a little difficult to find - the directions I printed off from the hotel's website proved to be a little difficult to follow. When I went to check in, the clerk on duty was not very helpful - we had booked suites which were supposed to have 2 king beds in separate rooms each, but the clerk said that there were only rooms with 2 double beds left and so we had to make do - she couldn't shed any light on why our reservations were mixed up and I was just met with a stony glare. When I spoke with the manager in the morning (she was much more friendlier) she explained that rooms with king beds had been available the nite before, but that none of their rooms had 2 king beds each and I suggested that Best Western should get their website updated. She graciously gave me a $15 per room discount, but the fact remains that the main reason I had booked this hotel was due to the 2 king bed suites and if the website had been accurate to start with, I probably would have picked a different hotel. This hotel is not that close to the interstate and I would have picked a hotel closer to the highway if I had know the true room configuration of this hotel.
The breakfast in the morning was okay, nothing special. The outdoor pool and indoor hot tub looked nice, but we were too tired to use them that evening. This hotel is in a sort of business/industrial area - there is really no place to eat - luckily we had dinner earlier on the road.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TeresaOntarioCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I would not recommend this hotel at all. I was lost on my way to the hotel and was actually yelled at then hung up on by the check in person on the phone. The room had stained sheets, minute bath towels, and a particular smell that I had to Febreeze out, and the continental breakfast was the saddest I had ever seen.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank satigrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2004

I would recommend Best Western Chateau Louisianne : this place is a very welcoming with its superb courtyard. Suites are clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff is nice and the rate was reasonable.
I would be happy to stay there again !

4  Thank Amp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 77Darko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaulouisianne, Manager at Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaulouisianne, Manager at Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
582 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge - I-10 East
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn South
Sleep Inn South
#26 of 78 in Baton Rouge
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel

Address: 710 Lobdell Ave, Baton Rouge, LA 70806-6320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $107 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Chateau Louisianne Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chateau Louisianne Hotel Baton Rouge
Best Western Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing