We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Option/Showing Age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at this property twice a year, for the last 8 last years, on business. Nice, clean rooms, comfortable beds and bedding, friendly and helpful staff. The lobby is attractive with free news papers and flavored water on arrival. The complementary breakfast is above average. There is also a nice-looking bar with televisions and a different complimentary appetizer every evening. The last few stays, we've noticed the rooms are showing their age...fabrics on chairs stained, little mechanical issues like a broken toaster and broken switch plate with exposed wiring. Also, a few greasy surfaces and missing silverware in the kitchen. The bed in this last room did not have a full mattress pad, which allowed the bottom sheet to slip off the mattress...which was a slippery, frustrating experience. Some of this is probably waiting in the corporate queue for renovations. Other issues speak to management.

The odor issue so eloquently described by a previous reviewer is not entirely wrong, but it's probably referring to the rooms at the ends of each building that open directly to the outside. Most guest rooms open onto an interior corridor, which is quiet, clean, nice and more secure with key card entry to the hallway. The "outside" rooms felt very motel-esque and were EXTREMELY humid and do have a very damp odor. Even cranking up the AC all night long, we were never able to get rid of the humidity. Made for a noisy and uncomfortable night's sleep. A definite quality difference from the interior rooms...we've stayed in them all, by this time.

Because of its location, pet policy and convenience, we will continue to hang in there with this hotel for the time being. But too much more of a decline, and we'll find a new place.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank WearyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us and for your repeat business. We review all of this feedback to focus on improving whenever and wherever we can. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this recent stay, but I am disappointed to hear that you did encounter a few problems. I will review these issues with our Executive Housekeeper so that we can review and re-train in our next meeting. I am glad to hear that you enjoy our complimentary amenities, such as the hot buffet breakfast, newspaper selection in the lobby, as well as the flavored water. I am also pleased to let you know that we are currently working on a few renovation projects. We just added two new fitness center equipment pieces today, we will be installing elevators to the building, getting an automatic entry door to the lobby, and much more, like finishing our granite installation in all suites and rooms. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when traveling to Baton Rouge in the future.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 609 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

When we walked into the lobby, we were very impressed with the decor, front desk staff very informative and friendly, our room was decorated just as nice as the lobby and spacious (king room with sofa bed, patio) nice shampoos, soaps , lotions, VERY CLEAN, beds were soft except sofa bed was little small and not very comfy, but oh well kids liked it. Black out curtains, air conditioner worked great as well as excellant water pressure in the shower. Upgraded to a 2 queen room with balcony the next night and loved all the space, separate room with huge couch, chairs, desk oh and 2 bathrooms. LOVED the huge pool, and hot tub, breakfast was excellant! Close to may resaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank cantsitstill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about you and your children's recent stay with us and for the 5 star review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience from the décor in the lobby to our spacious and clean rooms and suites. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the complimentary amenities, such as the Oxygen brand bath amenities, pillow-top mattresses, outdoor pool area, and Southern Style hot buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Room was great! Bed was very comfortable, it was clean, extra towels got to the room very quickly. Air conditioning in the living area didn't seem to cool as well but maintenance checked it out and even called back later to check on it. Kids loved the basketball court - hotel just needs to buy a pump to air up the basketballs. Lobby, pool, fitness center, etc. were all a very short distance from rooms which was nice. Collin was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Karl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us and for the 5 star rating. I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed their experience in one of our clean and spacious suites. I am also glad to hear that you were always greeted by our friendly staff. I will be sure to let Colin know that you mentioned him in your feedback, as well as our maintenance department. I will also have them check all of the basketballs that we have on site and add air if needed. We hope to see you again the next time you are traveling to the Baton Rouge area.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

A nice property that we drove 85 extra miles for because we'd had very good prior stays there. Not this time. The good is that the breakfast still well-exceeds the norm and the grounds are attractive. BUT, the room in Building C we were assigned was not clean, the water valve under the one of the sinks leaked on your feet when the faucet was turned on, the toilet sprayed outside the bowl when it was flushed, the floor was sticky, the A/C, which blew directly at the bed, was so loud that it had to be shut off, a prior occupant had unplugged the refrigerator because it made so much racket, the couch was stained, the wallpaper was peeling, tiles were loose and its grout dirty, and the bed was so poorly made up that the fitted bottom sheet didn't fit. Both the housekeeping and maintenance functions wholly failed in this room, suggesting ineffective management of the property. Nothing "Plus" about our room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JDS3370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

JD,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us and for your repeat business. I am sorry to hear that you had a bad experience this time and I want you to know that we take these comments very seriously. We this information to improve whenever and wherever possible. I assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance staff will correct these problems immediately. I am glad to hear that you were able to indulge in our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. It is many of our guests favorite amenity as well. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Every trip to Baton Rouge is a pleasure when we spend the night at the Best Western Richmond Inn& Suits. the staff is always helpful, rooms are always clean, breakfast is one of the best for quality and selection. this is the only hotel we stay at in Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Leighton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Leighton,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with and for your repeat business. We use all guest feedback to focus on improving whenever and wherever we can and I am pleased to hear that you had another enjoyable experience in our clean and spacious rooms. I am also glad to hear that you always encounter our friendly staff and indulge in our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I've had a great time at this hotel. The accommodations and furnishings are truly first rate, the location is excellent. The staff is both very efficient and very friendly. Breakfast was pretty good, although the items available on any one day are a little bit limited, although the menu does change daily so that you will more variety if you stay longer--pity that I only stayed two nights. Of course, all these came at an unexpectedly affordable rates!

The only thing that I found slightly annoying was that wifi signal had disturbing tendency to cut out. About 90-95% of the time, the signal was fine, but it just seemed to cut out at random times. Odd.

All in all, most of the other reviewers are absolutely right that this is THE place to stay in Baton Rouge. I know I'll be back here whenever I can find an excuse to go back to Baton Rouge.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h27kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and were always greeted by our friendly staff. Our complimentary hot buffet is also a favorite of most of our guests. I am sorry that you encountered some trouble with the complimentary WIFI. We have just installed 17 additional routers throughout the property and another 100MB bandwidth to improve the quality even more. We hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are traveling to the Baton Rouge area.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Miss Angela is the jewel of Best Western. She greeted us with a smile and assisted us with all our requests. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was great. We were thoroughly impressed with the breakfast choices and it was nice to have breakfast on something other than styrofoam. All the employees were nice and addressed all of our requests immediately. I cannot say enough kind things about Miss Angela. She was the first and last person we dealt with and because of that she left us with a positive experience. I highly recommend this facility and if we were in that area again we would stay there.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
19068, General Manager at Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Constance,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our spacious and clean rooms. I am also very pleased to hear that you were always greeted by our friendly staff. I will make sure to let Angela know your comments about her specifically. She is a great asset to our hotel. I am also glad that you had time to indulge in our complimentary hot buffet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Jennifer Holmes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 78 in Baton Rouge
347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
584 reviews
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
0.1 mi away
Cloverleaf Suites Baton Rouge
Cloverleaf Suites Baton Rouge
#52 of 78 in Baton Rouge
193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge

Address: 2683 Energy Dr., Baton Rouge, LA 70808 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Baton Rouge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baton Rouge
#12 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#12 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $98 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Inn & Suites, a 100% non-smoking hotel, is committed to providing the best in customer service and accommodations at an affordable rate. The pet-friendly hotel is situated near many businesses and area attractions - perfect for any traveler. Hotel guests are close to Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge corporations, Mall of Louisiana, and many other attractions. This Baton Rouge, Louisiana hotel offers thoughtfully-appointed guest rooms, featuring deluxe rooms and suites with full kitchens, each complete with free wireless high-speed Internet and cable satellite television with HBO(R) on flat screens. Guests will receive a complimentary hot buffet breakfast each morning upon waking. We offer The Advocate newspaper for a nominal fee available at the front desk. Additional amenities include an complimentary USA Today in the hotel lobby, outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, 24 Hr fitness center, 24 Hr business center and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Richmond Hotel Baton Rouge
Best Western Plus Richmond Inn And Suites
Best Western Richmond Hotel
Best Western Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing