We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stockade a gem in Baton Rouge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stockade Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stockade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Baton Rouge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stockade a gem in Baton Rouge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

My second stay here was as good as the first. Lovely, comfortable rooms. Wonderfully prepared and generous breakfast with the hosts friendly conversation. On the Highland historic drive, but only 15 minutes from LSU and downtown. Sammy's Grill is a great eatery just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
138
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My mom, sister and I have stayed at the Stockade for the past 3 years when we go to Baton Rouge for our Mother-Daughter get away. It is easy access to downtown, LSU, and all the shopping and dining places that we love. Breakfast is always wonderful and a refrigerator is always stocked with drinks and snacks are readily available. Janice has gone out of her way to accommodate our needs every time we come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendiLMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast is truly a gem and innkeeper Janice made the experience extra special. The landscaping was beautiful. You can tell that the Stockade is a labor of love. The decor was eclectic and fully in keeping with the personality of the inn. Janice has an artist's eye and a heart of gold. The breakfasts were delicious and it was lovely to sit and relax and chat comfortably in the beautiful dining room. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay at the Stockade. You will be in for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell and Mad... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missjd, Owner at The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay! It is my pleasure to share The Stockade with my guests from all over the globe. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again!

Best Wishes,
Janice, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmbrechts, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The staff is nice, the atmosphere is great and the rooms are just amazing. We stayed in the Rex Room which we can only recommend. The breakfast was more than enough, there were snacks and beverages for us all day long, and all of very good quality. For honeymooners it is ideal, since you won't get disturbed and the whole atomsphere is luxurious and cozy. Not to mention the huge and nice bed, I didn't sleep that well in months (or probably years). Perkin's Rowe and other Malls are in a short driving distance, some food places close enough to walk. The arboretum is close by and worth a short stay. All in all I am glad we chose thise place, especially for this price. Thanks to Janice and her staff to make this happen!

Room Tip: From what I saw they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ili84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband completely surprised me and made reservations at this beautiful B&B! I'm from Baton Rouge and never knew this was here! I had such a wonderful weekend! We will stay again!
The breakfast was perfect. It is very close to LSU, so getting to and from the game was very easy. We also ate dinner at Gino's Italian restaurant, and it was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our first bed and breakfast experience at The Stockade. After seeing the beautiful pictures of the Blue Room, I was very excited to be able to experience it. We made our trip a second honeymoon and the ambiance of the Stockade was perfect for us. I was looking forward to having a private balcony looking out on the woods and took photos from it. The gardens are beautiful. Janice made us feel right at home with wonderful breakfasts and snacks and anything we could want. We hope to return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 353535kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I love it when "First Timers" enjoy themselves! Thanks for choosing The Stockade as your introduction to A BETTER WAY TO STAY. Thank you for your kind and generous comments. We strive to provide our guests with a comfortable, authentic Louisiana experience.

Safe and happy travel to all your destinations and please come visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Janice, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I just stayed the weekend here and loved it! We stayed in The Blue Room which was comfortable, larger than it looks online, and had a nice private balcony. Very comfortable bed and the grill across the street, Sammy's, is great for late night food and fun. We would have liked to be a little closer to some 'Cajun nightlife' - we were looking for music and dancing but downtown was a little far...in any case, the surrounding areas around the B&B were nice with gorgeous homes right near LSU and we had no problem finding other entertaining things to do. Would recommend for anyone looking for a little getaway or a charming place to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmunoz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Stockade Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. I hope that you "passed a good time," as the Cajuns say, at Boudreaux & Thibodeaux's and Boutin's while you were here since they are 2 of Baton Rouge's Cajun style venues.

Thank you for coming and please visit us again. We appreciate your kind remarks.

Laissez le bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll!)
Janice, Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
2.3 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#11 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.2 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#6 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
6.7 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
4.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stockade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Stockade Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8860 Highland Rd, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-6854
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stockade Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, lovely accommodations on historic Highland Road in central Baton Rouge. Situated on 11 acres of wooded land, The Stockade offers serenity off the beaten path along with all the amenities you expect in today's travel environment. Free parking, free Wifi access, breakfast included in price of room, and beautiful, elegant surroundings await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Stockade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockade b&b
Stockade Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing