We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel on the river downtown. Valet parking a must. Higher is better with a river view away from traffic sounds. We left something in room. Staff secured it and FEDEX 'd it right out. Always seems to be under construction but you cannot usually tell. We would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Hilton Baton Rouge is a very decent place to stay if you want to be downtown. It has an old fashioned look and feel to it, but some part of it, like the bar and the restaurant have a modern feel with all the things you would want from them

I especially enjoyed the breakfast. It was a buffet style with all high quality items. It had the usual stuff like cereal and fruit, etc. but I found the home made marmalades and jellies a nice touch.

What's strange is that I really liked the shower. I was a corner type, very cozy, with a tightly sealed door that made it nice and warm right away and a shower head that was just perfect. The temperature was easy to get exactly right. I've never reviewed a shower before, but that's the way I found it.

The rest was very good. Nice people, good service, decent everything.

About the only things I didn't like was the forced Valet parking. You had to have it if you brought a car. And the 5AM trash truck waking me up with loud banging I could have done without.

Room Tip: Get a river side room for a better view. Get a higher up room to minimize trash truck banging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is very good. The location is awesome, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the accommodations are very good. However I found that my room wasn't clean very properly, something that made my stay less pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location to the downtown area and offers great views of the Mississippi River. All of the staff- from the parking valets to the restaurant staff to the bell staff- were fantastic! The room was spacious and comfortable- all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank SheaC904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at this Hilton and out of all the Hilton's this is my least favorite. Last time we stayed they were undergoing renovations and 4 years later, they seem to still be undergoing renovations.

What's good: the staff at the desk are friendly and pleasant and the restaurant and bar also have great people working there.
The location is very good, although be warned that all the restaurants downtown are closed on the weekend evenings so be prepared to drive somewhere else or eat at the hotel. The food is pretty excellent and the portions are huge!

What's not good: maid service and upkeep of pool area. I realize they are (still) undergoing remodeling but the pool area and the entire pool floor are abysmal. Filthy, with wet towels on most surfaces outside next to the pool, disheveled and broken chairs, trash laying around both outside next to the pool and all along the hallway leading from the elevators, to entrance. The bathrooms are disgusting as well, with little sign that anyone cleans or checks them at all. Very unpleasant and so disappointing since the view from the hotel pool deck is the Mississippi River and the levy and really beautiful.

Be prepared to deal with a lot of cigarette smoke at the pool. There is a designated smoking area but I suppose smokers seeing the general chaos of the pool area think it's a free for all and smoke where they please which is right next to the pool itself.

Maid service in the room is very haphazard as well. Despite having a do not disturb sign hanging on the door and verbally telling the room attendant we would need her to come back n the hallway because we were preparing for an event, our door was snatched open anyway. This was around 4 o clock in the afternoon. Stingy with the towels and when we came back that evening the room only had the bed made but nothing else replenished.

The bathroom is tiny and has thin double doors and no fan and I couldn't see evidence that there was ventilation although I know there must be since that would be against code. This was a renovated floor so I assume this isn't going to change. I like privacy in the bathroom. Zero privacy.

You can hear everything from your room going on in the hallway including normal toned conversation. You can hear people walking on the carpet. I don't want to hear those things. Zero privacy.

I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MelDef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share this detailed feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience through property updates and service training. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Marcus Hennigan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This hotel is convenient to the downtown area, restaurants, bars, casinos and government center. The staff are friendly and helpfull. Hotel is an old historic hotel and is currently undergoing renovations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hilton did a nice job remodeling this very old building. Don't expect brand new sparkling big box hotel, but rather an old historical building that has a lot of charm and a really good breakfast. If you know Baton Rouge isn't exactly a tourist attraction, then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#8 of 77 in Baton Rouge
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
3.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $102 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing