We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
mooringsport, United States
1 review
“Awesome Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel is an excellent place for a quick getaway. The lounge is so quaint and the bartenders are so friendly. The rooms are so nice. The bathroom is a little small but nice. I love the location. The restaurant has great food and nice service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    273
    164
    81
    49
See reviews for
184
226
41
457
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porltand, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms "felt" unclean. The bedding was nice. The bathroom "felt" dirty. No soap, no refill on bathroom supplies, coffee machine did not work, and the coffee supplies never got serviced. I stayed 4 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I don't want to repeat what others have said - but briefly, it is true the showers are a mess in terms of using them without getting the entire, tiny, bathroom wet. It is true the grout is dirty and wallpaper is peeling off. The rooms (I've stayed here many times) are NYC small.

What made it nice to stay here years ago was the staff - I stayed here perhaps 6 times during the first several months the hotel was open. I think they had brought experienced staff from other hotels to help with the opening. The staff now is just not trained to the level you'd expect at a Hilton. Not knowledgeable, not particularly friendly, not very professional. On this recent trip, the restaurant staff and the operators at guest services were particularly surly.

It's great they are about (according to the manager) to spend big bucks on a renovation, but you can't stretch bathrooms and they'll still have a minor league staff.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid street side - bar across the street is loud until 2 AM. Last visit was room 321...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and amenities and we will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to quality hospitality and accommodations.

Thank you,

Marcus Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Hilton Baton Rouge is an outstanding refurbishment of an old-style hotel, in which traditional and modern decor are nicely blended. It's certainly one of the most attractive hotels in the area, and a great location for B.R. visitors. Located very near the Mississippi in the heart of downtown, it has excellent river views (including from the hotel pool) and is within easy walking distance of various downtown attractions and restaurants. Though I only had room service, I found the food reasonably priced and better than average as hotel cuisine goes. I've stayed in several other hotels in the area, but the Hilton is one place to which I'd make definite plans to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and with each stay it has been a mixed bag. With such a great location and such a nice building, it is sad to see this place starting to fall apart a bit. The overnight front desk staff was completely clueless to the Hilton HHonors benefits, and I was not planning on having to argue with them over what I was entitled to. It was also disappointing to learn that they have cancelled overnight room service, especially after an LSU game. That was one of the better perks of staying here. The best part of our stay was definitely breakfast. Canary has to be the best server you will find. Be sure to ask for her for an awesome experience! She really knows how to take care of the guests. The spread offered was vast compared to many other Hilton properties I have stayed at.

If you are looking for a nice weekend in downtown BR, the location of this hotel really can't be beat. It's really a beautiful property, but some of the front desk staff could use some more training about the hotel they work at and what comes included with certain statuses. At a property like this, good customer service is the key to a wonderful time, especially at a property of this caliber.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with lower numbers tend to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joepercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the area and that you enjoyed our breakfast service. We are sorry that you encountered a disappointing service experience at our front desk. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and your feedback will help us better deliver this brand promise moving forward. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area.

Thank you,

Marcus Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for an overnight get away from the kids! Everything about the hotel was beyond my expectations! Room was so comfy and clean! We had an awesome view of the river! WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raceland
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

very overrated unfair that I have to type a minimum of 200 characters for a hotel that does not deserve 20 again very overrated. parking is terrible. fixtures falling off of walls. no bibles located in rooms. hot water lukewarm for two days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Murphy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Murphy, Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing. Thank you, Marcus Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
7.5 mi away
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
L'Auberge Casino & Hotel
#13 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Property: Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing