We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Ranked #5 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellence”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Baton Rouge in Capitol Center. The Hilton hotel brand continues to keep their standards high and their rates reasonable. Every City I travel to, I look for a Hilton prior to my arrival. They are always my first choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    297
    169
    85
    53
See reviews for
201
239
44
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was in and out for business, great service, food and location for visiting Baton Rouge and business. Surrounding area is filled with interesting historical character. The hotel looked like it was being upgraded so it will be interesting to see what they are doing when I get back.

Room Tip: Great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller14800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very nice junior king suite overlooking the river with access to the executive club. I would stay at this hotel again, but would make sure I knew where I wanted to go as the staff couldn't direct me. Once I asked valet about a historial location. He said he wasn't sure, but thought it might be.... The valets were all nice, however. We asked the man in the executive club about the trolley. He didn't know. I called the front desk the next morning and they didn't know about the trolley, but switched me to the concierge who never answered the phone. Found it one block over. Had a wonderful narrated tour-free. Runs 10:30-2:30. I was impressed with the service at the bar. Very nice lady bartender. Housekeeping--needs LOTS of instructions for this quality of hotel. Clean towels were left sitting on the counter in the bathroom. Coffee was not replenished, dirty glasses weren't removed nor clean ones left. Dirty linens are left in the hallways outside all rooms until after 3:00 in the afternoon. Don't know why they weren't removed when the rooms were serviced in the morning. Maid knocked on our door at 8:45 on the morning of checkout which isn't until noon. I suggest putting the "Do Not Disturb" sign out the night before you are leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joann09134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeQuincy, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The security, front desk, and room server were very polite respectful people! The only problem I had was with housekeeping remembering to refill toilet paper and leave extra towels. VERY comfortable beds!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel offers first class excellent service in a historic location with view of the Mississippi River. All accommodations and service were excellent. The bar was well stocked and staff knowledgeable. Has a happy hour and late night/early morning courtesy coffee in the lobby. Pool deck has beautiful view of the river.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have always been cautious of booking at HIlton properties. They tend to be older and not as well kept as, say Marriot or Sheraton. That said, I was hoping for the best. On a positive note: The hotel is located in a great part of town, particularly if you are attending an event at Shaw Center, which we were. Also, I found that most of the staff were nice, Props to Grant at the front desk. I will get to the rest later.

The first thing I noticed when I got off the floor (7th) was how terribly dirty the carpet was. It seems at though they had not cleaned it in years. There were bleach spots all over the place, usually in front of the doors. Once we got to the room, the door was so heavy, my elderly mother could not open it.

When we got inside, the room was reasonably well appointed but smallish. We had a great view of the Mississippi River but there was only a chair for the desk, so you had to sit on the bed. This would have been fine if only one person was staying there. It was tight for three (3) people.

The two other issues which made this visit totally forgettable were: 1) Cleanliness and lack of response thereto; and 2) lack of hot water. As to the latter, I am not sure what was going on but the shower never got warm. Due to my problems re: #1, I did not report it. Apparently, it got better the last day we were there.

CLEANLINESS and HOTEL RESPONSE: As I feared, this HIlton fit the mold (no pun intended) of many other Hilton's I have visited. Really poor housecleaning. First thing I noticed when I saw the shower was mold around the bathtub. Also, the tub drained very slowly. Finally, the shower curtain lining was pink and dirty. It should have been changed.
Second, they needed to really dust. I am attaching a picture of the cobwebs on the furniture.

What was really unacceptable was that I reported the items to the front desk. First, to a short black guy who kind of dismissively said he would "take care of it" but never did. Second, I reported to Grant who, despite his great personality was unable or unwilling to resolve it. I

The final issue was check out. I wanted to switch payment to my debit card and it threw them, I suppose, despite it being a very easy transaction. Apparently, there was an issue with Hilton's system and they had to recalculate my bill. It took two employees including a very snippy supervisor to fix it. Still not sure if they got it completely right but I so wanted to get out of there I didn't care at the time.

All in all, I wished I had stayed somewhere else but for the location.

Room Tip: River view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmwlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus H, Assistant General Manager at Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction and welcome you to contact our offices directly if we may be of any additional assistance.

Thank you,

Marcus Hennigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mornoe, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love my stay each time and every time!! I would not stay anywhere else in Baton Rouge. Thanks for each and every staff member for upholding the Hilton tradition of great service and putting out a great product. My family and I will be back! Thanks again for your hospitality and professionalism!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
0.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
527 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
WATERMARK Baton Rouge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center

Property: Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
Address: 201 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70801-1205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Baton Rouge
#19 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the finest accommodations in Baton Rouge at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! We are located in the heart of downtown and the Baton Rouge City Center, just off I-10/I-110 and adjacent to the Mississippi River.We are in the heart of the Central Business District, minutes from the Louisiana State Capitol, LSU, the Louisiana Arts & Science Museum, Shaw Center for the Arts, and the Old Governor's Mansion, amongst many other popular attractions in this vibrant city.Our hotel is a AAA 4-Diamond historical hotel, originally built in 1927 and renovated completely, keeping the historic character and touches of the time period, while bringing the hotel up to the level of excellence and luxury that you would expect. Our hotel offers a beautiful outdoor pool complete with a sundeck overlooking the Mississippi River. Looking for authentic cajun cooking? Visit The Kingfish Grill located on-site! Look no further than the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Hotel Baton Rouge
Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing