We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Small Venue”

Shaw Center for the Arts
Ranked #21 of 67 things to do in Baton Rouge
Attraction details
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Small Venue”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the perfect place to visit for small concerts. There are no bad seats and the sound quality is perfect. Little over 350 seats and no one will feel left out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fatmanadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic architecture- Heart of Baton Rouge”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Excellent architecture makes this Arts Center a joy to visit regardless of exhibition, which are sometimes fabulous. Terrific views of Mighty Mississippi and Downtown Baton Rouge. Observation decks from both L.S.U. Museum of Art (4th floor) and Tsunami restaurant(top floor).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kentwpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Some nice additions to downtown Baton Rouge”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have a love-hate relationship with the Shaw Center for the Arts. I love the LSU Museum of Art (small but interesting collections), but wonder if a university art museum should be on the campus rather than downtown. I like the LSU Art Gallery but find its location within the complex rather second rate vis-a-vis the grandiose entry hall. I certainly like the Tsunami restaurant and the views from the restaurant and rooftop terrace. My favorite part of the complex is the Manship Theatre which is a gem - intimate and very European in design (i.e, several very shallow balconies. It is a fabulous venue for chamber music and small production (e.g., one-man theatrical performances, small musical ensembles, etc.). I guess what I hate about the Shall Center is the ridiculous main lobby/hall that soars three or more stories tall with massive walls of glass. I can understand wanting to include some feeling of drama in center, but to waste that much space in the heart of downtown Baton Rouge, makes no sense to me and I don't even want to think about washing the windows! It seems to me, the architects could have created an impressive lobby/hall area without wasting so much space (and, in fact, some people criticize the center for not providing enough space - that is, the Manship Theatre is perhaps too small, the LSU Art gallery is too small, etc.). Nevertheless, the Shaw Center is a much-needed venue and asset. It is clearly part of a rejuvenation of downtown Baton Rouge and it is wonderful to see more people and more activity in and around the Shaw Center.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place to view the Mississippi River and the downtown area. Shopping area is available, along with restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A highlight worthy of carving out time for anyone with artistic interests.”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

About a year since last here and was delighted to catch a well-done retrospective on the late Michael Crespo (there till Dec. 14, 2012), along with the permanent collection.
The center is close to several other interesting attractions - e.g. the old state capitol building that is more like a castle than any other capital that have ever seen, the USS Kidd, and the levee.
Was able to park nearby during the week and we spent a couple of hours at the Shaw Center.
Do go to their web site. Entrance fee is modest.
They also have a good museum shop, and there is a pretty good sushi restaurant on the top floor.
The top floor allows a nice view of the river and beyond. When the weather is good it is a pleasant place to relax and talk with family or friends.
Please do advise if you find this review useful. Thank you.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw Center for the Arts also viewed

 

Been to Shaw Center for the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing