We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original George's for Best Burger in Baton Rouge”
Review of George's

George's
Ranked #52 of 1,032 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Guardalavaca, Cuba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Original George's for Best Burger in Baton Rouge”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

For the BEST burger in Baton Rouge, this is the place to get it. It dont take 5 Guys or a Burgersmith to make em.Tired of Burgers, then try the shrimp,oyster or fish p-boys. Not up to the BEST sandwich in Baton Rouge? Try the daily plate lunches. Fried fish, roast beef, red beans, check the menu @ georgesbr.com.
Locally owned and operated for over 30 years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Critic_1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All hype not worth the drive”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was looking forward to George's since I looked it up on TRipAdvisor back in Houston. $23 for an average but dry shrimp po-boy, small fries and 2 sweet teas was not worth it. Reviews must be from locals, staff not friendly AT ALL, somewhat sarcastic. Maybe that had to do with being a different nationality (we noticed the glares) but stayed because of the great reviews.Overall not worth the trip...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveljunky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hide away place; outstanding food”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A little hard to find; it's practically UNDER the freeway--parking IS under the over pass. Looks pokey and dark from the street--IS kind of pokey and dark inside--but in the humid muggy heat of full-summer Baton Rouge, the dark helps to cool and is well appreciated.

The food--omg! Melt in your mouth sandwiches--deli thin cut meats all fresh cooked and/or smoked or grilled on fresh breads with fresh, fresh, fresh vegetable garnishes and flavorful cheeses. Makes me hungry just writing about it. Can't think of a 'bad' item on the menu (have tried lots once we 'found' this place). If you are unsure--try the mufalata--it's a New Orleans staple BUT I think George's is 'way tastier.

Friendly, cheerful staff. Happy, well fed regular customers. Reasonable prices; full bar. Nice, unpretentious place to have lunch and chill.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank caveatactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not the worst, not the best”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in because we had heard about this place on diners, drive-ins and dives. Was told that the burgers there were top-notch, I went ahead and tried the. "Heavy hit"... Flavor was lacking and it didn't come with any kind of side dish. Just a 8oz burger on a small plate. Had to add ketchup to give it some flavor. I've had worse, and I've had better. My husband got the wings and thought they were phenomenal. Near atmosphere. Wouldn't go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Octoberlove29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too greasy.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place serves alot of fried food, so I'd expect some grease, but whenever your food is absolutley soaked in it and that's all you taste, even the low cost of food can't make up for that. Good bar and friendly staff, though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly2berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's also viewed

 
Baton Rouge, LA
Baton Rouge, LA
 

Been to George's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing