We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid investment”

Juban's Restaurant & Catering
Reserve with OpenTable
Juban's Restaurant & Catering is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 1,032 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
195 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A splendid investment”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is what a good Southern restaurant should be; quiet, immaculate, spacious, beautiful, and graced by outstanding service from highly trained waitrons. Everything from the free dish of sugar-dusted baked sweet potato slices, unforgettably paired with the acidity of lime juice, to every other dish we tried, was beyond compare. The prices were high but not unreasonably so. The standard of Service deserves a second mention. The diners were continuously but unobtrusively scanned, and every need was anticipated before it even became necessary to voice it.

If I have one complaint, it is that healthy food choices were extremely scarce. But dining in this establishment is a rare treat, and so, indulge yourself!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SoItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    70
    30
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
200 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food but there are better restaurants in BR.”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Jubans is one of the better Baton Rouge restaurants but I have had much better meals at some of the other BR restaurants for the same price.
While Jubans offers a pleasant atmosphere, plenty of seating, and generally excellent service, the food preparation is not equal to Ruth’s Chris, Sullivan’s, or Louisiana Lagniappe at equal or similar prices.
Service is normally exceptional but becomes very slow when private rooms are booked. Group meetings can run several hours regardless of the desired speed. Receptions with finger food seem to be handled well.
The taste of the food served in general is good but not excellent. Steaks are tender but the seasoning is not to my choice (and I have been eating in the best restaurants in New Orleans and Baton Rouge for many years). My wife loves the Hallelujah Soft-shell Crab and the Gumbo. The deserts are excellent.
Not my favorite but a very good restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't get there enough”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have never had a bad experience at Juban's. I have gone there many times. The crab ckaes are my favorite. I love the sweet potato chips. The service is good. I have been dining there for the past twenty years.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank utellmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Will always return...”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Great atmosphere for romantic dinner. Crab Avery was a fresh flavorful app. Shrimp Aubergine was fantastic. Service was great & on top of everything. I loved everything about this restaurant. Pina colada sherbert in between courses very refreshing. Ended w/dessert & after dinner drink. Will always return to Jubans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank butterscotch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prix fox menu for lunch a stellar deal”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch and ordered off the prix fix menu. You get your choice of soup or salad, entree and dessert. I chose the crab chowder and it was lucious and creamy. No separation of cream sauce and plenty of flavor. Cornish game hen with a gumbo type sauce over a corn stuffing with fresh veggies. Everything cooked perfectly and the seafood sauce had a nice heat to it. Bread pudding completed the meal. Yummy bread pudding with a nice sweet caramel sauce. Stunning meal. Great value for lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveHuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juban's Restaurant & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Juban's Restaurant & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing