We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have the gumbo”
Review of Dempsey's Poboys

Dempsey's Poboys
Ranked #48 of 1,032 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have the gumbo”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The seafood gumbo is awesome. It's creamy and has a good roux. The grilled shrimp are good but medium sized not jumbo. It's a little off the beaten path, but the service is friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank brockpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    32
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“DO NOT miss eating here!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Visiting Baton Rouge for a week and we were told this was the place to get authentic Cajun cooking. We had a bit of a wait, but once we saw the food being served, we didn't care that we'd be late returning to our conference! What a meal! Once seated, we were promptly served. Food was hot and beautifully presented. The shrimp and grits were rich, buttery and cheesey. Topped with a wonderful red sauce that complimented the shrimp and grits. Also had the crab cakes which were full of sweet crab meat and stuffing. Just a tad over fried, but delish! May revisit this one again before leaving.

Helpful?
Thank NTexastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor - I love you!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for a place to eat before a movie. Tripadvisor you are my best friend when I'm looking for something new to try. I love reading "real" people reviews! This place was great. The gumbo is good, the fried catfish was delicious, and my husband loved his poboy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Gumbo Ever”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

If there's a place that serves better Gumbo (either seafood or andouille) I haven't found it. Places like Dempsey's are what makes the reputation of South Louisiana food. I typically get the cup and a half- that's a cup of gumbo (your choice) and half of a po-boy). It's a cafe style place that serves great food for reasonable prices. If your looking for a place that serves up incredible gumbo and mouth watering po-boys, look no further.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarionBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brgirl”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Food and service is excellent. Nice atmosphere at both locations. Recommend this to anyone new and old.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dempsey's Poboys also viewed

 

Been to Dempsey's Poboys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing