We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing more than once...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DON'S Seafood - CLOSED

DON'S Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DON'S SEAFOOD More Than Eighty Years of Exceptional Seafood South Louisiana locals and visitors have been drawn to DON'S authentic Cajun cuisine for more than 80 years. Menu selections including traditional Landry family recipes, and more recent original creations like Zydeco Shrimp, are well worth repeat visits. Many stop in daily for oysters on the half shell or boiled crawfish in season. DON'S bartenders serve Signature Old Fashioned cocktails alongside the newest specialty drinks, many made with Louisiana products. DON'S SEAFOOD began in 1934, when Don Landry opened his first restaurant and bar in downtown Lafayette with $400 borrowed from his uncle. Prohibition had just been lifted and at only 24 years old, he envisioned serving drinks and offering a simple menu featuring fresh local seafood. Four generations later, the Landry family has expanded that humble beginning into what would eventually become the DON'S SEAFOOD of today. Continuing the tradition, the Landry family still owns and operates each location. An extensive menu of original South Louisiana Cajun family recipes, the freshest Gulf seafood and sizzling steaks is offered. Each location boasts a unique Acadiana-inspired décor, all have a full-service bar and grill, perfect for casual diners or sports enthusiasts. Every DON'S SEAFOOD grill features an open charbroiler where diners can watch exclusive dishes being prepared like DON'S Original Jacked Up Oysters loaded with bacon, jalapenos and pepper jack cheese. Whether you're just passing through South Louisiana or live right around the corner, you'll find a DON'S SEAFOOD location near you in Lafayette, Baton Rouge, Denham Springs, Gonzales, Hammond, Covington and Metairie.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing more than once...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been to this restaurant about 3-4 times. Each time, except the last, my meal was returned for correction. The last time, my entree was burnt and the waitress told me that the cook had blackened it for me. So I told her that she could have it. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Helpful?
Thank Charmilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    12
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wetumpka, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

every time i am in batron rouge on my last night i go to dons. i save the best for last love the gumbo ant the oysters are to die for not over breaded and the taste is amazing. in a older part of town so go early while it is still early they have a policeman in the parking lot for security and i have never had a bad meal there !!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jt8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
207 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A Visit to Old Baton Rouge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Don's has been in Baton Rouge for many years. The original Don's is still in downtown Lafayette. Located up Airline Highway it is in a section of the city that was very much the hub of Baton Rouge many years ago. So many families have moved out to the suburbs, but Don's survives and still thrives. The decor is very rustic and the patrons are a lot more blue collar than in many other restaurants in Baton Rouge. Families are a frequent sight here, often with multiple generations. The food is good to very good. The hush puppies are to die for. They are addictive. The seafood gumbo is a distinctive Cajun dark roux with a generous supply of large shrimp. We shared the Landry Special that featured the gumbo, shrimp creole ( good), Shrimp au gratin ( wonderful), stuffed eggplant( very good), and stuffed shrimp( really not good). The stuffed shrimp was more bread than crabmeat and it needs work. I think it is worth a visit and certainly a trip of nostalgia. It is comfortable with definitely a different vib than many other more recent newcombers to the restaurant scene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WickedWalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This seafood establishment has been around for YEARS. My father in law will not eat any seafood in Baton Rouge if it does not come from Don's. They provide retirement for their wait staff because they are so family oriented, but the seafood is fresh and great! My family and I ate until we were sick because we could not stop eating everything. None of us ordered the same thing, but we all ate off one another's plates.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Always Consistent!! Always Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been frequenting this Baton Rouge restaurant for many years. They remodeled serveral years back and did a great job. Don's has been at this location for many, many years. The surrounding area may have gone down over the years, but the wife and I still feel comfortable going there. It has been and still is a favorite of sales reps / chemical plant execs for lunch and locals for dinner. They serve complimentary hush puppies as soon as your are seated. The raw oysters, seafood gumbo, margaritas are always perfect not to mention everything else. Easy In - Easy Out. Pricing is right! We can always count of Don's for great food! You will not be disappointed! Highly Recommended! Casual Attire.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DON'S Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing