We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”

Casa Maria Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #216 of 1,029 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Their salsa was freaking awesome and the seafood burrito was amazing!!! The service was really good as well. Friend,y atmosphere!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8j8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
183 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“TexMex in Big BR is just okay”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Baton Rouge has a wealth of marvelous restaurants. TexMex is average. Of all the so-called Mexican eateries, Casa Maria on Bluebonnet is my favorite. My wife needed an enchilada "fix" yesterday, so we arrived at 6:30 and it was packed! I thought we were early. It took a few minutes to receive our frozen margaritas, which are pretty good. The salsa and chips are tangy and crisp. I ordered the big pile of fancy ground beef nachos which arrived piping hot and quite good. My wife's two cheese and one beef enchiladas with chili were hot too. Frankly, I don't know if they are fresh or frozen, but we like them better than others in town. Service was not spectacular, but decent. We were in and out in an hour and the cost was $34. We will return. However, we have a trip to Texas planned soon to eat some REAL TexMex.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok for a Mexican fix”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stopped as we were visiting baton rouge. It was normal Mexican food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhotoCrazyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My parents and my husband and I ended up here after LSU graduation. Many restaurants were full to capacity, but Casa Maria only had one table taken when we got there, and we were starving! I had a taco and a spinach enchilada and both were good. My mother had chicken fajitas, and they smelled divine. She had no problem gobbling them up! My dad had enchiladas and said they were also good. My husband wasn't really up for Mexican that day, so he ordered a hamburger. It came on a Kaiser roll and was freshly made - not a pre-made patty. We were really surprised at the good food and the quick service and would definitely go back!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank phpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great mexican”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We really like the food at this restaurant. Everything always tastes fresh and the seasonings are always good. Not too spicy. There chips and salsa are yummy and the fajitas are hot and sizzling.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LAgirl65BatonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Maria Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Casa Maria Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing