We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great traditional diner”
Review of Louie's Cafe

Louie's Cafe
Ranked #37 of 1,037 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great traditional diner”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Sat at the counter on a Sunday morning was perfect for this English visitor. I love old-fashioned American diners and Louie's is definitely that. If you want a huge breakfast, go for it. Apparently it never closes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CliffChallenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    53
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
200 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Breakfast Grill”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Good breakfast diner servicing LSU students and faculty. Lots of food with good prices. A Baton Rouge institution.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank RNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Time 24 hour dinner”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you can't find it on the menu then ask if they can make it for you - They will if they have the ingredents.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fritz_from_Lousiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the all-time great college joints”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great value and good tasting food. Relatively inexpensive. Quite popular place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Refuels my childhood soul.”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Louie's was my saving grace after those long nights of fun in my collegiate days. I always try to go and sit at the bar and have this greasy diner food whenever I'm close. Get the chicken fried steak breakfast, have the hash browns, and have a good rest of the day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 40Rouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Louie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing