We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Capital City Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Capital City Grill
Price range: $30 - $30
Restaurant details
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

It looks like a chain place, but it has pretty good local items like fried green tomatoes, gumbo and crawfish, plus normal stuff like burgers and sandwiches and fish dishes. Good lunch place if you're in the Sherwood Forest area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BronxSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stopped in for Sunday brunch. Very good eggs Benedict. The eggs were cooked perfectly. The grits were also good. Save room for dessert. The portions are HUGE! One slice of bread pudding fed four and still hard to finish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nola1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Outstanding catfish”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Attended dinner at this location -the fried catfish was the best I have ever had.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great taste of Louisiana at a great price”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Best food in a long time! Crab fingers, Fried Green Tomatoes, Gumbo. All done just right. The hollandaise on the tomatoes was perfect and I don't even like hollandaise sauce as a rule. The crab was fried and tasty. The gumbo could have used just a tad more heat but that's not a complaint.
For dessert the Bread Pudding was plentiful (enough for two) and nicely prepared.
Bar service was good. Drink ordered was a pomegranate martini. Uninspiring in presentation and fairly strong. Waitress very pleasant and didn't hover.
Prices were very reasonable. You won't go wrong here.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Isedso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“We have never been disappointed when dining there!”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have had lunch there several times the past couple of months. We were impressed not only with the meals and service (both were great), but the COCONUT CAKE IS TO DIE FOR!! We like the idea this time of year to have the option of having our meal outside or inside.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital City Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing