We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steaks are amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sammy's Grill

Sammy's Grill
Ranked #7 of 1,029 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Prairieville, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Steaks are amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

They not only gave great seafood, but their Filet Mignon was pretty good too. I would compare it to Ruth Chris's in I could cut it with a knife.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    231
    74
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

3 months ago I went their with my wife. I was very keen to visit here from very early time. Finally, I paid a visit here. Me and my wife were very happy with their stuff! They are really awesome!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Howard123432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We wanted to try this restaurant because it always has long line waiting to get in. First, the decor of the restaurant reminded me of a cafeteria. The food was not bad, but it was nothing to write home about. The fried catfish was not crispy enough. The fried shrimps were so so. I can name several seafood restaurants around the vicinity serve better food. After the long waiting and anticipation, we were a little let down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geffect95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In Baton Rouge taste like New Orleans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all I am a die hard New Orleanian. I am very picky to say the least about my seafood. Exspecially my Poboys and the bread they are made on. Sammy's is as close as you get to New Orleans seafood as you can get,maybe even better.It is hard to pick a favorite menue item I love the fried pickles,shrimp poboys and seafood platter. They offer large size portions and great service. Almost forgot, The white chocolate blueberry bread pudding is to die for. The serving is enough for two(three if you have eaten alot)! Enjoy my favorite seafood eatery. Bye-the-way they have several locations in town now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kymberlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
422 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Good cajun good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good traditional cajun with an extensive non cajun menu also. Grilled oysters may have opium in them, they are addictive. Wait staff is incredibly cute. Family friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmarcone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sammy's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing