We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian Food Factory”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #153 of 1,029 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Italian Food Factory”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is no reason to seek out or to avoid the Olive Garden. The food is nearly identical wherever this chain-style restaurant operates. The food is acceptable, but unremarkable. They press way to hard sell the wines to go with the dishes (a high profit item?). Service varies with the individual waitperson or manager. It is always modern and clean. As with many such main-road and fancy places, you may expect a wait in prime hours the far exceeds the values of the offerings.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masterpsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service for a party of 16”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food was Olive Garden. Richmond, Baton Rouge, .....yada yada yada, all the same. If you love Olive Garden, you will love this place, if you are not impressed with Olive Garden, don't exect this one to change yoru mind. The bright spot here was that the service was spectacular. Maybe it was because we were a group (gang) of biker-boys or that we lucked out and and got a couple of good ones on our server team, but we had good, fast service. Keep up the good work.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tubastew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For those who don't any better.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

I never eat at chains, but I was given a gift card and figured I would give it a try. I expected it to be generic, but never this bad. My 10 year old asked if the food was from a can. (really)

Save your money for a real Italian meal. There are so many good restaurants in BR, stay away from this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSN1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Love Olive Garden”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We are from the UK and I must say that when we land in the USA my first place to want to eat is Olive Garden. We arrived in Baton Rouge on Monday evening and Tuesday lunch time we were in the Olive Garden. Soup and Salad, yum yum. It never disappoints. The staff were very friendly and when they realised we were British are server was great giving us information on Baton Rouge.
Great value for money.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Venetian Apricot Chicken Is Delicious And Only 400 Calories!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband and I ate at Olive Garden on March 19, 2012. We went because they had been advertising a special on t.v. but the promotion ended the day before we got there. We were warmly greeted at the door and seated promptly in a dining room. I asked our server, Ashley for nutritional info on their menu. I was pleasantly surprised to see that the Venetian Apricot Chicken was only 400 calories. It was moist and had a slightly sweet apricot sauce on it along with asparagus and broccoli. Very very good. I got a salad with the low calorie house dressing and breadsticks with my entree which cost $13.50. My husband had Spaghetti & Meatballs. He said his was very good as well and the portion size was perfect. Not too much and not too little. His entree cost $12.75. We would eat at Olive Garden more often but they are across town from where we live. I highly recommend Olive Garden for a special meal. Perfect for family gatherings or after church meals. If noisy restaurants bother you don't go hear. It can get loud.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing