We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!”

Parrain's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 1,048 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Midlothian, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of 10 and there were NO complaints about the food. Everything was delicious!
The boudain balls are really yummy. The staff is extremely friendly. Must go place when you are in Baton Rouge!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank woodall4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    423
    97
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went with my husband and two kids. We all loved it! Hubby got the Andouille Encrusted Fish, and I got the Delacroix. Kids got the chicken tenders and corn dogs. Adult meals were incredibly flavorful and presented beautifully. Kids also loved their meals. We paid a little under $20 for each of our meals, and they included salads.

Highly recommend! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzySparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lived up to reviews!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

All reviews on this site are spot on. It is very casual and has many smallish rooms to accomodate a lot of people and good sized bar. My husband and I shared a dozen chargrilled oysters which were plump, juicy and delicious. One then had gumbo and the other crab/corn chowder and we shared the andouille encrusted fish entree. Could not pass up the white chocolate bread pudding for dessert. We had plenty of food and everything was wonderful! Wish I lived closer to try other menu items.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janet425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Even better 2nd time around!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

You cannot go wrong. Everything on the menu is fantastic. Great atmosphere. Bread is incredible. A must try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wassanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Order the chargrilled oysters and eat at the bar.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The 5 star rating is for the chargrilled oysters, perfect Manhattans, and fun bar atmosphere. We read about Parrains on TripAdvisor and during a recent trip to Baton Rouge decided to give it a try. The restaurant was packed, so we ate at the bar.

First we ordered a Manhattan. It has been our experience that not all bartenders know how to make a good Manhattan and it is a 50/50 proposition as to what you will get. But we took our chances and were glad we did. They were perfectly made, quite large, and less than $5.00 each.

We were glad that we ate at the bar because we had a front row seat to the cooking of the chargrilled oysters. Fresh oysters were first shucked then placed on a flaming grill in their shell. Next a special shrimp sauce was poured over them. They cooked in the shell over the flaming grill, then they are topped with cheese and other yummy tasting spices before being delivered to the customers. While we were there they must have cooked a few hundred oysters. We decided that next time, we will only order these and forget everything else.

The bar staff was very professional and friendly. The atmosphere was relaxing, welcoming, and pleasant. Definitely a fun place to eat when you are in Baton Rouge!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parrain's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parrain's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing