We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be beat in Baton Rouge!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #327 of 1,029 Restaurants in Baton Rouge
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Erwinville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't be beat in Baton Rouge!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Sonny's has been around a long time. Their menu has changed over the years. But the food is consistantly good. The salad bar is well stocked & very clean. They have hot soup or red beans on the bar. The bread pudding is one of a kind. The special all u can eat ribs for $12.99....how can you beat that!!! Friendly, down home service. You will not be disappointed here. and you won't leave hungry!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bprbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Bprbear, thank you for the great review. We're glad to hear that you enjoy our BBQ! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Barbecue for you”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good pulled pork on garlic bread! This place does basic barbecue for a good price. If you are in BR it is a decent place to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DivaRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Stuff-Not KC, Caroline or Memphis but very good.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Ribs, very nice. Brisket, very nice, Pulled pork-we liked. Baked beans, tasty without overdoing it. Coleslaw, made just the way we like it, and finally the potato salad was worth ordering as was the garlic bread. All in all a good experience. As we all know, BBQ is a taste that we develop early on and usually the comparisons that we make are from those experiences. But good is good and this place does a nice job. Would it win at the American Royal, probably not, but pretty good nonetheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Bar-b-que”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Excelant service.
Excelant price.
A real treat when you are in the area. You can stay on your low calorie diet or not. They can take care of your hunger.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosepitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Best BBQ in the south!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you love smokey goodness, this is the place to get your BBQ.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tubres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing