We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Location”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This hotel has very nice view of the river and is within wall distance to the State Capital Attractions will stay again!!! The hotel Staff was a pleasure. They went above and beyond the call of duty. I have to say the price is a little steep including parking, but the location and the views made up for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Member,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I'm also excited to announce that we are expanding have expanded our Hampton Breakfast which offers even more choices for our guests to choose from! We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Safe travels,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    156
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
227
170
41
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived early and the hotel stored our luggage until we could check in. The room was super clean, super quiet and the beds were excellent. Breakfast had variety and the coffee was good. Front desk was helpful and prompt with any requests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Shelia R,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I'm also excited to announce that we are expanding our Hampton Breakfast which will offer even more choices for our guests to choose from! We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Safe travels,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville La., United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed downtown at the Hampton Inn.. Everything new, fresh, and clean. Staff very friendly and personable. Location is ideal to enjoy the Baton Rouge nightlife. Parking is convenient . Beds are tres comfy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Holly W,

Let me start off by thanking you for your most recent review. We love hearing from our guests about their experiences not only at our hotel but in Baton Rouge in general. Here at the Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge, we want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests leaves here 100% Satisfied and I am glad to hear that we met your expectations! We do hope the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area, that we could be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance, now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice hotel, great location, clean rooms, great service provided by front desk and dining staff. Hotel parking is a bit unusual. You must pay $15 to reserve a space in their small lot or pay $9 to park across the street in their parking garage. Little Village restaurant is right next door. Fabulous food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Susie G,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Safe travels,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Forty-five minutes left.

The Hampton Inn Baton Rouge on Lafayette is a great hotel, worthy of its current #1 rating in TripAdvisor. There are many qualities with a few problems, of which the parking problems are somewhat beyond Hampton’s control as much of the parking is owned by another entity.

The qualities first. The Bed and Breakfast are great. I was in town for a wedding and in the bed, I slept like a baby, not a bridegroom. Breakfast foods are plentiful and varied, from oatmeal to bacon to fresh fruit. There probably should be better explanation on operating the waffle maker for inexperienced travelers such as I. One may watch CNN or, through a semi-circular window, one may watch the 525 Lafayette construction which will give a great view of the River until the construction is complete. The staff is overly friendly and cooperative. One helped me solve the mystery of North Boulevard versus North Street, two roads so close but so far away when searching for a wedding.

The biggest problem is parking. Hampton is on the corner of Lafayette and Main, two one-way streets. The ground-level parking lot access is on Lafayette, paralleling the River. A simple but large sign at the entrance to the lot would make it clear that the lot is now controlled by Hampton. Hampton is thus susceptible to the COIK fallacy (clear only if known). There are fifteen minute spots in the rear for checking in, but these are not visible from the parking access. One may rent a ground-level spot for about fifteen dollars a day—very convenient, but one does not know the option until check-in if even then. Garage parking is nine dollars a day.

The largest part of parking for Hampton is across the Street on Main at a LaSalle parking building. However, if one approaches the LaSalle from the Hampton exit onto Main, one must go around the parking structure to find an entrance on North Street or Main. One more problem, the entrance to the parking structure on Main is not visible until one has passed it. Thus one more circle around the building. A large entrance sign in front of the shrubs would help. COIK. Inside the parking structure, the signs are also not clear, but it seems that one may park on the first floor though not in a reserved spot. One may certainly park on higher floors.

Across Lafayette from Hampton is a restaurant called Azteca apparently in the former location of Little Village. In front and alongside of the restaurant are about ten street parking spots. These spots are not metered on the weekend. So one may park on the street on a quiet weekend and save nine dollars from the hotel parking. One meter even had forty-five minutes remaining on it when I arrived on a Saturday morning and had the same forty-five minutes on it when I left Sunday. Go find that forty-five minute meter. Free parking at that meter !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view. There are many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear aferry,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your most recent review of our hotel. We love hearing from our guests about their experiences, not only in our hotel but also about their stay in Baton Rouge! Here at the Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge Downtown we take pride in standing behind the Hampton Inn 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and want to make sure that each and every guest leaves our door as such. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay and can understand your frustration with the parking but know that this is a constant work in progress for the hotel and myself. Through feedback like yours we can ensure future guests do not experience the same confusion. With the new IBM tower going up next door, street parking will become a very difficult to find which is why I have ensured that our guests have two parking options for guaranteed hassle free as well as safe and secure parking. We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area, that we would be your hotel of choice! If my staff or I can be of any assistance, now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was passing through Baton Rouge on my way to Texas and selected this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a great experience. Check in was quick and they called me in the room right after I was in to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. The room was well appointed and the wifi worked the whole time I was there. Overall, I would certainly stay here again and the balcony was lovely to watch the traffic on the Mississippi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Vanessa S,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Safe travels,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel and the staff Exceeded my Expectations. I arrived as a single mother with 3 children in my care. The staff was cheerful, funny, and understanding to additional needs for the suite we stayed in. The only I'd change is that we would've stayed longer. ;)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Genisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Genisa U,

Let me first and foremost take a moment to thank you for your most recent review. I also want to thank you for choosing our hotel during your most recent visit to Baton Rouge. We want to ensure that each and everyone of our guests are 100% satisfied during their stay and afterwards! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope that the next time you find yourself in the Baton Rouge area that we would be your hotel of choice. If my staff or I can be of any assistance to you now or in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us! Thank you again!

Safe travels,

J. Benjamin Blackwell
General Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Baton Rouge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
346 reviews
6.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
7.2 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#9 of 77 in Baton Rouge
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Address: 462 Lafayette St, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge Downtown is located in the heart of Baton Rouge, Louisiana's vibrant Downtown business, entertainment and dining district. Our new boutique style priced right hotel in Downtown Baton Rouge is the perfect place for you to stay, whether you come for business or pleasure: * Our Baton Rouge hotel is just minutes from LSU – Louisiana State University, and Tiger Stadium, home of the Fighting Tigers * Located less than 4 miles from our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Baton Rouge hotel in Downtown, you'll find the Louisiana Community & Technical College *Just a short walk to LSU Museum of Art, Old State Capitol and Louisiana State Capitol * Short drive to Southern University located 9 miles from our hotel * Located right across from the IBM Services Center Baton Rouge * Within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, bars and local attractions * Featuring Room Service Provided by Little Village Italian Restaurant * Short walk to the North Boulevard Town Square where you'll enjoy live concerts and weekend festivals * Have some fun in one of the casinos the Baton Rouge has to offer * Enjoy some of our Guestrooms & Suites with balconies overlooking the Mississippi River and Downtown Baton Rouge * The 200,000sq.ft. Baton Rouge River Center is located within walking distance to the hotel, home of conventions, concerts, and Broadway plays * Baton Rouge Airport (BTR) is less than 7 miles from the hotel * Easy access to major highways: I-110, I-10 and I-12 Our Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton hotel in Baton Rouge Downtown is complete with signature features such as circular one bedroom suites overlooking the Mississippi River, and guest rooms and studio suites with balconies. Our Louisiana Baton Rouge hotel offers premier lodging with elegant, amenity filled guest rooms, unsurpassed views and a warm inviting decor: * 137 stylish and comfortable Rooms & Suites * Free High-Speed Internet Access in the entire Hotel * Free "On The House™" hot breakfast and "On The Run Breakfast Bags™" * Free Local Calls, 800 Access Calls, and Long Distance Access * 42" HDTVs with extended cable including HD Channels * Hairdryer, Iron & full-size Ironing board and Coffee Maker in all Guestrooms * Suites include microwave, mini-fridge, and wet bar * Rooms include microwave and mini-fridge * 2 telephones with speakerphone, and voice-mail featured in all Guestrooms * 1,250+ sq.ft. of flexible function spcaces with audio-visual equipment for your next business meeting or social event * 24-hour Business Center * 24-hour Jump Start Fitness Center * 24-hour convenience store * 100% non-smoking * Parking garage including covered parking (charges apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing