We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Louisiana in a microcosm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Park Museum

Capitol Park Museum
Ranked #7 of 62 things to do in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With thematic exhibits on diverse aspects of Louisiana history, industry and culture, the museum includes two permanent exhibits: Grounds for Greatness: Louisiana and the Nation and Experiencing Louisiana: Discovering the Soul of America.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
843 reviews
414 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Louisiana in a microcosm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We were most pleasantly surprised to see the vast variety and scope of displays depicting life in Louisiana. Satchmo, Huey Long, the Bus Boycott, School Segregation issues, Uncle Tom's Cabin, Civil War, Cotton, even their unique contributions to modern Rock ' N ' Roll -- they are all covered very well. As some point you get saturated with the intake of all this information, so touring when you are refreshed in the morning is advised.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    43
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My friend and I stumbled on this museum by fortuitous accident. I would say it's worth every penny but since it's free I'll just say that I'd be more than willing to pay to visit.
There are two floors showing history and culture. Both floors are impossible to rush through, so much catches your attention. Even if you're just dipping into it you'll find things around every corner impossible to resist.
On the second floor you really become aware of the vast array of customs and cultures Louisiana has to offer, visually, aurally and food wise. Magnificent!
My only slight complaint is that the lights went out bang on 5 o'clock, almost trapping us in the museum. I was astounded to realise we'd been there for two hours - and seemed to have only touched the surface.
A must see attraction for visitors and locals alike

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Got there too late to take it all in, but this is a great museum that covers a little bit of all the cultural, ethnic, political, geographic and historical diversity which makes up the interesting state of Louisiana. Would love to go back sometime and really take our time as we were not prepared for the wealth of information. Lovely exhibit of almost 100 year old photos of plantations, also.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The museum is free, so the price is great. The museum has a lot of different displays to please everyone. There is two levels of education.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Who would know?? They are NEVER open!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this establishment 3 times, and all three times the doors are locked when the hours posted say they should be open!! The last time I even called in advance, drove all the way out...and...they were NOT open!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank neworleanszombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capitol Park Museum also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Park Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing