We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks so Parisan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
Ranked #18 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks so Parisan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2005

Loved the interior design of hotel. Comfortable suits. Great service.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nuongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    44
    29
    4
    5
See reviews for
53
18
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
austin, texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2005

Stayed here on the July 4th holiday...very pleasant surprise.

Rooms: We were in a one room suite - similar in layout to an embassy suites room. Slightly larger than I expected. Very well kept & appointed, had a new, almost elegant feel. Lots of LSU memorabilia. Good kitchen & fridge.

Hotel: Five story hotel, again - clean, new, very well managed. Breakfast buffet was good - nice dining room and large TVs. Shaquille O'Neal pool was a little small - not sure Shaq himself could stretch out in it.

Location: Right in the middle of the LSU campus, which is just a couple of miles south of downtown. Nice quiet location, at least in the summer. Would be the ideal place to stay during football season. Only potential drawback is that you'll need a car - no restaurants or bars in the hotel or the vicinity (except for breakfast).

Overall - excellent alternative to large chain hotels. Highly recommended-

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank longhorn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2005

Incredible! I had no idea this place existed. It's tucked away on the beautiful campus of LSU and it's magnificent. It's refreshing to get away from the corporate feel of most run-of-the-mill hotels. I will be back!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2004

What a find! The hotel and staff were incredible.

The complimentary breakfast was much more than I expected...homemade waffles, eggs, ham...what more can you ask for. I also enjoyed lunch there on a couple of days (the chicken marsala is fantastic).

I am so glad that the hotel (located on the campus of LSU) is open to the public. Now, when I visit my daughter, I will ALWAYS stay there.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2003

Great place to stay. Rooms are new and clean, staff was friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2003

My wife and I needed a break from reality and New Orleans, so we drove up to BR and spent a wonderful night in the suite. Very comfortable, HUGE rooms and the next morning we spent in the hot tub and pool, capping off an extremely peaceful nights rest. a++++++++++++

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2003

The hotel at the Cook Conference Center is great! We got one of the suites, and it was awesome! The bathroom is quite large, and the decor for the rooms is tastefully done. The staff is extremely friendly, and the location is conveniently located in the center of town. It's across the street from a lake and located on the outskirts of the LSU campus, so you don't get that typical "hotel in the middle of a bunch of other hotels" feeling.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Baton Rouge Downtown Riverfront
4.9 mi away
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
Renaissance Baton Rouge Hotel
#5 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Property: The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
Address: 3848 W Lakeshore Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Hotel offers 128 well-appointed Deluxe Guest Rooms and Luxury Suites featuring plush Sealy Posturepedic beds, luxurious triple sheeting with duvet comforters, complimentary in-room wireless and wired internet, dual-port chargers, flat screen televisions, on-demand entertainment and a tastefully selected LSU-themed decor. In October 2015, we upgraded the in-room television service to 202 all-digital HDTV channels and replaced the entire hotel Wi-Fi system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing