We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient to LSU, Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Convenient to LSU, Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I spent two nights here in June. The hotel is on the LSU campus, right across from University Lake, which offers some lovely morning and evening walks. The rooms are large suites, each with a full kitchen. A full, Southern, buffet breakfast is included with the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahCrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie W, Back Office / Inside Sales Manager at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Thank you for reviewing The Cook Hotel. We are very fortunate in our location as a part of the LSU campus. In the future, if you are traveling to Baton Rouge for either business or pleasure, we hope you choose us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
46
17
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a great location for having a meeting with students. We were housed in a very comfortable suite that was well appointed, quiet and conveniently located. We were unable to check in early after a rather busy weekend for the hotel. The cleaning staff had left trash on the bathroom sink. The breakfast was good and the hotel located conveniently to the conference center next door. It's a facility any university would be pleased to claim as their own.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jersbikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I found the hotel rooms to be very small though ours did have a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel has neither a restaurant or a lounge/bar. If you do not have your own transportation, you will find it is a long walk to local restaurants. We found the bed to be average but the pillows were very large and very uncomfortable to sleep on. Our recommendation would be you bring your own pillows. Overall, the room and the hotel were very clean and the front desk personnel were friendly.

Room Tip: We read the remarks by other travelers to be wary of a room next to the elevator. Our room was next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MobileMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I don't think I can clearly tell you what a great time we had at this hotel. The staff was friendly, it was extremely clean & a great value. The pool is a major plus and it's on LSU campus you can't beat that. The breakfast was phenomenal. It was probably the best free breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Also the lunch,
although there is a small price incurred, is definitely worth it!! It's a "must stay" for your next LSU game!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyMessina, Manager at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are very happy you enjoyed our accommodations as well as our exclusive location on the beautiful campus of LSU! Our tranquil, campus environment is unique to the city of Baton Rouge; and we are pleased you enjoyed the personality of our very special LSU hotel. Please take the opportunity to stay with us again when you are in Baton Rouge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right on the campus of LSU. The staff is very nice. The rooms are well appointed if not a little small. This is set up for conference style business but we stayed on a leisure visit and enjoyed it. The breakfast downstairs was included like many business hotels these days. The business center has plenty of room. The work out facility and pool area not their strong suits but they are available. I would try to stay here anytime I was coming to campus. W got a rate of around $110 whic h seemed reasonable and I'm sure seasonal as we were the in late July when school was not in session.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyMessina, Manager at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review of The Cook. We are very happy you see us as a destination for relaxation as well as business, as we do provide amenities that are suitable for both the leisure and corporate traveler. We hope to have the opportunity to provide another memorable experience for you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Such a nice, clean place. And right on the LSU campus. This is out second time to stay here and both times have been wonderful experiences. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyMessina, Manager at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay at The Cook. Our mission is to ensure that every guest stay is remarkable, and we are pleased your experience was enjoyable. If we can ever be of further accommodation or assistance to you, please contact us at www.thecookhotel.com or 1.866.610.COOK. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was wondering why our meeting was going to be on campus at the Cook Center. I knew its' location was wonderful...across from the lake on campus, dripping with southern charm & greenery (a change from NM). I knew the conference center was excellent, but on checking into the hotel I found it to be a cut above. A beautiful property, well maintained, with a well trained young staff who apparently know the meaning of "hospitality industry." This reflects well on them, management & training. Check in (after a long arduous day in and out of airports) was painless & handled professionally. My room was a suite with full kitchen and more than adequate relaxing and work space. Room was well maintained & actually cheerful (especially if you're a LSU fan). Close and accessible to eateries and all parts of Baton Rouge, if they have space one can't go wrong with a stay at the Cook...business or pleasure. Breakfast was complimentary and much better than average. Throughout stay hotel staff was accessible, professional and seemed eager to please. I wouldn't want to try to book a room when LSU is playing a home game though.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in Baton Rouge, just would hate to try to book a room when there's a LSU hom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyMessina, Manager at The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. At The Cook Hotel, every member of our staff strives to ensure that our "Southern Hospitality" culture is also our policy. Your experience is very important to us, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#17 of 72 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU

Property: The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU
Address: 3848 W Lakeshore Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-4600
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cook Hotel offers 128 well-appointed Deluxe Guest Rooms and Luxury Suites featuring plush Sealy Posturepedic beds, luxurious triple sheeting with duvet comforters, complimentary in-room wireless and wired internet, dual-port chargers, flat screen televisions, on-demand entertainment and a tastefully selected LSU-themed decor. In October 2015, we upgraded the in-room television service to 202 all-digital HDTV channels and replaced the entire hotel Wi-Fi system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Cook Hotel and Conference Center at LSU reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cook Hotel Baton Rouge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing