We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly run down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Near an adult type club but seemed ok anyway. Parked out back and curbs crumbling, benches and chairs out in cute seating area broken, pool was dirty so we were unable to use it. In the first room we were given, the headboard fell off the wall onto the bed when my son sat down. The next room was ok. Had a kitchette. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. There was a decent breakfast with waffles, sausages, cereal and other items. The issue with breakfast was having to try to compete with the housekeepers who were continuously making their breakfast at the same time as the guests. I would not stay here again because the staff made us feel like we were in their way.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank suv-mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-FO-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lisa Jefferson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites
225-923-3377

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

The guy at the desk was the same one we had in December and I thought to myself, "Not good". When I booked online, I asked for a "quiet room, away from elevator/ice/vending machines." The first room we were given was directly across from the elevator. Blake at the desk said he couldn't see my online note. (We stay at Comfort hotels often and have never had this problem.) He gives us a second room, saying it's the only remaining king. We go up there, and it hasn't been cleaned--at 4:30PM. So he gives us room 409 and this finally is OK. It's a huge space, with the bedroom being about 1/4th of the space. The bedroom had an awesome AC. We made the mistake of closing the bedroom door before bed, and the AC warmed up. So if you like to be cold, leave the door open.

My husband loved the pillows; I hated them.

The bathroom was weird--only one fluorescent light inset into the ceiling in the middle of the room. This meant no direct light on the mirror, so good luck putting on makeup. The toilet bowl had a horrible brown stain. The curtain rod curved down in the middle so the shower curtain slid away from the walls on both sides.

The living room area was huge, and looked almost empty. The lighting wasn't great. It needed a lamp on the sofa's second end table.

If it was just me, I'd book elsewhere next time. My husband liked it so I guess we'll be staying here again. But I'll bring my own pillows.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-FO-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lisa Jefferson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites
225-923-3377

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a large 2-room suite with two queen size beds, two TVs and a living room area with a kitchenette. Large, very clean, very quiet room. The beds were very comfortable. Impeccable housekeeping. Convenient parking near the front door. Located in a very quiet area but convenient to I-10 and LSU. I'm the only adult traveling with two young boys and it was very nice to have such a stress-free experience. The only quirk was the breakfast area, Every time the sliding backdoor opened with someone coming or going I was blasted with cold air (it was a cold spell in March) which was not pleasant. I hate to say anything negative since overall we had such an enjoyable stay but the breakfast room experience was not a pleasure. Will be our hotel choice next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stay 5 nights in the hotel.
The room is very large,full kitchen,every work well.
The room is clean,
Check-in very fast,front desk Lisa and Raeneisha was very nice.
The breakfast have everything for start my day.
Internet works.
Quiet place,parking safe.
I stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GELCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this motel for two nights. The rooms and lobby were clean and in good shape. We enjoyed our stay and the desk personnel were very helpful. I would definitely stay there again. I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marathonmaniac539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The comfortor smelled like calogne, not my husbands! The front desk guy was unpleasant, the toilet got clogged when husband called down to desk at 6:30 pm, there was no answer, after several attempts to get the front desk by phone he gave up and went to the front desk. He found the front desk guy sitting at the front desk, why the phone was not answered who knows. He proceeded to tell him the toilet was clogged so he gave him a plunger. The shower where the spout comes out of the wall was broken the bathroom shower was rusted in a lot of places.
Uggh is all I can say glad we were just there over night on our way home wouldn't have stayed there another night!

Room Tip: I have no advice for this chain I will not be staying in this chain again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-FO-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lisa Jefferson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent two nights in November and the room was huge, but awful! Smelled, peeling paint, mold, soiled carpet and the dimmest light in the bathroom I have ever seen.
Hotel seemed like the kind of place you would lay low if you were on the run from the law!! Front desk staff was very nice, but they can't clean the rooms or do the maintenance... Breakfast was ok but so crowded you couldn't get to it (LSU Football Game), so coffee was about it. Funny side note: The establishment across the street is the PENTHOUSE Strip Club (sure didn't see that before I booked), and everybody tried to park near the front door because the area looks like the kind of area your car or some of its contents may not be there in the morning!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Baton Rouge - College Drive
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Baton Rouge University Area
2.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Baton Rouge-Lsu At Southgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#6 of 77 in Baton Rouge
360 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Inn & Suites, A Trademark Collection Hotel
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn College Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 3045 Valley Creek Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3148
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Baton Rouge
Comfort Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing