We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average place to stay; needs better front desk personnel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Austin TX
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very average place to stay; needs better front desk personnel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The guy at the desk was the same one we had in December and I thought to myself, "Not good". When I booked online, I asked for a "quiet room, away from elevator/ice/vending machines." The first room we were given was directly across from the elevator. Blake at the desk said he couldn't see my online note. (We stay at Comfort hotels often and have never had this problem.) He gives us a second room, saying it's the only remaining king. We go up there, and it hasn't been cleaned--at 4:30PM. So he gives us room 409 and this finally is OK. It's a huge space, with the bedroom being about 1/4th of the space. The bedroom had an awesome AC. We made the mistake of closing the bedroom door before bed, and the AC warmed up. So if you like to be cold, leave the door open.

My husband loved the pillows; I hated them.

The bathroom was weird--only one fluorescent light inset into the ceiling in the middle of the room. This meant no direct light on the mirror, so good luck putting on makeup. The toilet bowl had a horrible brown stain. The curtain rod curved down in the middle so the shower curtain slid away from the walls on both sides.

The living room area was huge, and looked almost empty. The lighting wasn't great. It needed a lamp on the sofa's second end table.

If it was just me, I'd book elsewhere next time. My husband liked it so I guess we'll be staying here again. But I'll bring my own pillows.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-FO-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lisa Jefferson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites
225-923-3377
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    11
    14
    29
See reviews for
43
26
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had a large 2-room suite with two queen size beds, two TVs and a living room area with a kitchenette. Large, very clean, very quiet room. The beds were very comfortable. Impeccable housekeeping. Convenient parking near the front door. Located in a very quiet area but convenient to I-10 and LSU. I'm the only adult traveling with two young boys and it was very nice to have such a stress-free experience. The only quirk was the breakfast area, Every time the sliding backdoor opened with someone coming or going I was blasted with cold air (it was a cold spell in March) which was not pleasant. I hate to say anything negative since overall we had such an enjoyable stay but the breakfast room experience was not a pleasure. Will be our hotel choice next time we're in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnh624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
108 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stay 5 nights in the hotel.
The room is very large,full kitchen,every work well.
The room is clean,
Check-in very fast,front desk Lisa and Raeneisha was very nice.
The breakfast have everything for start my day.
Internet works.
Quiet place,parking safe.
I stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GELCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at this motel for two nights. The rooms and lobby were clean and in good shape. We enjoyed our stay and the desk personnel were very helpful. I would definitely stay there again. I would recommend this motel to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marathonmaniac539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The comfortor smelled like calogne, not my husbands! The front desk guy was unpleasant, the toilet got clogged when husband called down to desk at 6:30 pm, there was no answer, after several attempts to get the front desk by phone he gave up and went to the front desk. He found the front desk guy sitting at the front desk, why the phone was not answered who knows. He proceeded to tell him the toilet was clogged so he gave him a plunger. The shower where the spout comes out of the wall was broken the bathroom shower was rusted in a lot of places.
Uggh is all I can say glad we were just there over night on our way home wouldn't have stayed there another night!

Room Tip: I have no advice for this chain I will not be staying in this chain again
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa-FO-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Lisa Jefferson
Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in November and the room was huge, but awful! Smelled, peeling paint, mold, soiled carpet and the dimmest light in the bathroom I have ever seen.
Hotel seemed like the kind of place you would lay low if you were on the run from the law!! Front desk staff was very nice, but they can't clean the rooms or do the maintenance... Breakfast was ok but so crowded you couldn't get to it (LSU Football Game), so coffee was about it. Funny side note: The establishment across the street is the PENTHOUSE Strip Club (sure didn't see that before I booked), and everybody tried to park near the front door because the area looks like the kind of area your car or some of its contents may not be there in the morning!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This should be a nicer place. It has an odd layout around the lobby, without the traditional room for breakfast. Tables are just scattered around instead. We were assigned a 5th floor room but the elevator wasn't working so were moved to the first floor. (A few hours the elevator was repaired.) The bathroom ceiling had a very amateurish patch and some plaster had dripped onto the toilet tank lid--and never been cleaned off. The bed and pillows were very hard.

Though we were near the lobby, it was quiet at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Baton Rouge University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Baton Rouge - Citiplace
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#20 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 3045 Valley Creek Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Baton Rouge
Comfort Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing