We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Stinker!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Real Stinker!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in November and the room was huge, but awful! Smelled, peeling paint, mold, soiled carpet and the dimmest light in the bathroom I have ever seen.
Hotel seemed like the kind of place you would lay low if you were on the run from the law!! Front desk staff was very nice, but they can't clean the rooms or do the maintenance... Breakfast was ok but so crowded you couldn't get to it (LSU Football Game), so coffee was about it. Funny side note: The establishment across the street is the PENTHOUSE Strip Club (sure didn't see that before I booked), and everybody tried to park near the front door because the area looks like the kind of area your car or some of its contents may not be there in the morning!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    11
    14
    29
See reviews for
43
26
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This should be a nicer place. It has an odd layout around the lobby, without the traditional room for breakfast. Tables are just scattered around instead. We were assigned a 5th floor room but the elevator wasn't working so were moved to the first floor. (A few hours the elevator was repaired.) The bathroom ceiling had a very amateurish patch and some plaster had dripped onto the toilet tank lid--and never been cleaned off. The bed and pillows were very hard.

Though we were near the lobby, it was quiet at night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice room for our large family. It had 3 rooms: front room with pullout sofa, desk, table, and recliner; one bedroom with king size bed; second bedroom with king bed and bathroom. It was awkward having the bathroom in one of the bedrooms. I would have expected two bathrooms with this kind of suite. The second bedroom was large enough that another bathroom could be put in. There was no bedding for the sofa bed so we asked for some. They only brought sheets so then had to ask for a blanket as well. Also had to ask for more towels. There was a nice fitness room and breakfast was good. Everything was very clean and beds were comfortable. The front room had no heat or a/c or fan. It got very warm during the night.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BWHClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the room had very low lighting in it. Worst, was there was a sofa along the wall near the window but you could not sit there and read, as there was no light fixture by it or even a standing lamp to light the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

My daughter and I were guests over the long Thanksgiving weekend. I have never met such a friendly and helpful group of folks. The entire staff is to be commended for their friendly service. Oh, and let's not forget the delicious hot breakfast and the comfort of the room. I felt very safe at this motel. We chose this hotel for it's proximity to LSU; the drive there is an easy one. Make reservations here without concern.

Room Tip: There are suites that are two room, each with a 32" flat screen TV. These rooms are wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is definitely what made our opinion of the hotel. They were so kind, polite, and attentive to what we needed. We would definitely stay here again! All of the staff worked really hard to keep things neat and tidy. The manager was very polite and extremely helpful when we asked for help finding our way around the area.

Room Tip: The hotel is definitely older, but the staff made our stay so enjoyable. We felt like they were our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighthousewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tn.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Arrived at motel on Nov. 2, 2013 and at 1st was informed that they had over sold their suites and would have to give me a regular room. I explain to them that I had reserve these two suites over three months ago and if they over sold, they would have to explain it too someone else. With this little matter cleared up, Sis and I were given our keys to our two suites. The front desk clerks weren't rude and were actually very friendly. The rooms were very nice and enjoyable to stay in. The breakfast was great and plenty of it for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
Holiday Inn Baton Rouge
#3 of 77 in Baton Rouge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Baton Rouge University Area
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn College Drive
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richmond Inn & Suites-Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Property: Comfort Suites University
Address: 3045 Valley Creek Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Baton Rouge
Comfort Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing