We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites University
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nothing spectacular here, but the suite we stayed in was big and had microwave and refridge. Swimming pool was outside and right out our window, so that was nice. Hotel staff were nice people and helpful. Hotel does need some updating, but overall it's a good place.

Room Tip: we were in middle, heard no other noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites University
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 128 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband's job relocated him to Baton Rouge; however, when we arrived, our apartment was not ready for move in, leaving us (and our pup, Peanut) needing a place to stay. The property is dated and the inside can use some work (much like most, if not all, budget hotels I've stayed in), but it was kept clean and the staff was phenomenal!! We arrived at a very late hour and the front desk woman, Lisa, was friendly, content, and engaging (unlike other hotel stays where the night shift is pretty much checked out and useless). What impressed me most was how accomodating they were. We were not sure how long the apartment hold-up was going to take and the manager worked with us, happily giving us a deeply discounted rate for the week. I give this property an "excellent" review for this class of hotels and would highly recommend it.

For those who appreciate continental breakfasts: although the breakfast was popular on the weekends, it was always well stocked and hot. Fresh hot cookies are baked and offered in the afternoon/evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassandraJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick f, Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We strive for the best customer service and I am very proud of my staff. Lisa does a great job and she trains the rest of the front desk agents. We enjoyed your company including "peanut". Please let us know if you ever need anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We booked 4 hotel rooms for Memorial Day weekend to attend Bayou Superfest at Tiger Stadium. The staff was very nice, but the rooms need a lot of TLC. Very large rooms but old and dirty. Someone was actually painting the doors around the elevator because he said some big wigs were due in at any time. Who paints on a friday afternoon of a holiday weekend??? There were only 2 towels in the room and we had to ask for extra towels each day. I feel it was way over priced for what we got.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilync1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

They may be fixing up the out side but they should do the inside at the same time. I don't have anything good to say, so I won't say anything at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a road trip and when we checked in, we were given a "non smoking" room but the room reeked of smoke, so we immediately asked for another room and they had no problem with that. The rooms were very clean. The breakfast was good too. The staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The staff were very nice. But the hotel could use a major cleaning.
We pretty much had to get our "key" recharged every day. There seemed to be problems every day the wifi too.
The air conditioner was not working in one of our friends rooms. Also we booked 2 rooms for the same time and were on different floors.

Room Tip: I think if you don't get a discount, your rooms are a little nicer. We have a preferred card.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eerb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick f, General Manager at Comfort Suites University, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

On behalf of Comfort Suites University, I apologize for the issues you encountered on your recent stay. These are not the standards we strive for. The property is due for an upgrade and our wireless internet is new. The problems were corrected and we would love for you to give us another try. Tahnk you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was obviously an older property showing signs of wear. The staff was excellent; they gave me directions on how to get to where I was going, provided a list of take-out restaurants, and let my friend any myself play Scrabble and eat pizza in their breakfast area the evening we arrived. Our room was a bit of a disappointment. There were stains on the vanity and chinks in the tiles on the bathroom floor. The walls were very thin and we could here people talking and water running. Our room was smaller than most Comfort Suites I have stayed at. There was a wet bar, microwave and refrigerator, but no table (there was a desk). Only one elevator in a five story hotel, so we often had to wait a little while and contend with overcrowding when going up or downstairs. The beds were very comfortable, the room sufficiently clean, and we slept well. The AM breakfast buffet had a decent offering of hot and cold items and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjmlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn College Drive
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
Radisson Hotel Baton Rouge
#25 of 78 in Baton Rouge
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Baton Rouge I-10 & College Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Baton Rouge Acadian Centre/LSU Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Baton Rouge University Area
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Executive Center Baton Rouge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites University

Address: 3045 Valley Creek Dr, Baton Rouge, LA 70808-3148
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range: $91 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites University 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites University Hotel Baton Rouge
Comfort Suites Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing