We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ok but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I was there on business and the location was great. When I checked in the person had to search for a room to give me. He asked if the 1st floor was ok and it was. But when I got to the room it was a handicap room. Not what I would prefer. The shower had hair in it and the water was way too soft. The remote didn't have a cover over the batteries. The hair dryer was Awesome. The food for breakfast was not too good. Hardly anything left and it was only 7:45am. Dried up eggs. But overall it was ok. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martysgirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your lodging experience with my team and I. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns with each department so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
19
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were in town for Bayou Country Super fest. The hotel was booked solid. Our room was clean, AC was cold and the water was Hot! Comfortable beds. Thought since hotel was crowded , next to the interstate and a hospital right down the street we would have a noise issue. We were wrong. It was super quite. The entire hotel is non-smoking. From Check in to Check out the staff was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor. Near end of the hall. There was a door to the outside at end of hall, Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMOMA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It is always a pleasure reading how our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward in serving your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I booked this reservation for a multi-day business trip. Upon arrival at 4:00 PM, Ms. Courtney at the front desk seemed confused about whether my room was ready (this being an hour after I was scheduled to arrive). She wandered off for 10+ minutes without explanation, while another guest waited to check in behind me. She inquired whether I would like a smaller room for a lower price, and then said that it would be a little while longer until my room was ready. After 12+ hours on the road in 95+ degree heat, I just wanted to check in and relax before beginning work. I politely took my ID and credit card, booked at a competitor's property, and cancelled my reservation. As a Marriott Rewards member, who prefers Marriott properties to stay at, this was a profoundly unacceptable experience. I have come to experience other Marriott properties to be efficient in checkin.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay in Baton Rouge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glennahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I deeply apologize for the poor check in experience that you encounter at our Fairfield Inn hotel. I will personally address this issue with my front desk staff and I thank you for bringing this behavior to my attention. I hope that you would give us another chance when in the area so you may experience a more pleasant hotel environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This Fairfield was very clean and nice. It had a great hot breakfast to go with it.
We got a great rate with orbitz and will definitely be using Fairfield again.
Friendly service and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much from my staff and myself for the kind words and sharing your experience with us. We truly enjoy reading when guests enjoy their stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to servicing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
504 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice place. Completely renovated – rooms are modern, new carpeting – super comfy beds with thick padding. The bathroom has the sink outside the toilet/tub area and there’s a nice closet. AC worked great (you WANT that in Louisiana!) Lobby was nicely renovated with a big breakfast area with a nice selection of eats. Nice, efficient people working the breakfast area – very clean and lots of tables. Nice front desk girl checking me in. Beautiful indoor pool and gym (I didn’t use either but saw them. Good location right off the interstate. Free parking and wifi. I was only here for one night, so I didn’t see much in the area. I was in New Orleans, and it took me about an hour (give or take 15 minutes) to get here from there – a straight shot up I-10 west. All good - no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tczig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience with my team and I. It was a pleasure reading your thought of our property and service. We are looking forward in serving you again during a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A business partner and I split a room here during a business trip while in Baton Rouge. The hotel is clean and the location is great. The hotel is located right off the main highway and there are several restaurants in close proximity.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable, exactly what you would expect from a Marriott property. Breakfast is typical continental, nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogsraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I want to take the time and personally thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. I am honored that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and we look forward to serving you again during your future stay in the Baton Rouge area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Grove, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

First stop of a family roadtrip. Located near a hospital so it was a very quiet area. Hotel was clean, and staff was very nice. Wasn't far from several restaurants, and near the Bluebonnet Swamp. Breakfast was what you would expect for a free hotel meal. Would certainly stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your Lodging experience at the Fairfield Inn and Suites Baton Rouge, La with us! It is always a pleasure reading to my staff how our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future during your next visit to the area. Thank you for your business! Sincerely, Jessica Mitchell Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baton Rouge hotels
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Baton Rouge South
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
Wyndham Garden Baton Rouge
#22 of 72 in Baton Rouge
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Baton Rouge South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Baton Rouge
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Baton Rouge Siegen Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South
Address: 7959 Essen Park Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Location: United States > Louisiana > Baton Rouge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 72 Hotels in Baton Rouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated on 1/29/13 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Baton Rouge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Baton Rouge South Hotel Baton Rouge
Fairfield Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing